Record entry at KCB Autocross

Record entry at KCB Autocross

A record 48 drivers revved off Sunday morning during the second round of the KCB National Autocross Rally at the Kasarani WRC Safari Rally racetrack, in Nairobi.

This is the second autocross event after a successful event of the year that saw bumper entry of 42 drivers at The Karen Waterfront, Nairobi.

Speaking during the flag off ceremony, the Clerk-of-Course Anthony Gatei said autocross has continued to attract interest of drivers since resumption of sports events in the country.

Commenting on the course, he said, despite the overnight rain, the drivers are revving hard and he expects scintillating action in all the four heats.

“The course is wet but the drivers are very confident. We look forward to some great action today even as some of the drivers are preparing for the upcoming Kenya National Rally Championship in Nakuru,” Mr. Gatei said.

The program kicked off with a parade lap followed by four heats ahead of the prize-giving ceremony later in the day.

Kenya rally champion Baldev Chager is among drivers enlisted for the second round of the KCB National Autocross Championship.  Chager, who led the 2020 KNRC log prior to Covid-19 restrictions, has been listed in the Open Class category alongside series leader Kirit Rajput, Asad Khan “Kalulu”, Hamza Anwar and lady motocross star Maxime Wahome.

Chager, who is a member of the three-car Kabras Sugar Racing outfit, also disclosed his KNRC preparations:

“The cars (Kabras) have been ready for a while now and we are planning a test session this weekend to get back in the driving seat and to shake down the cars. So we are just eager to get behind the wheel and see how rusty we may have become over the COVID period. I am sure a few Kilometres and we should be ready to go.”

In the 2WD Non –Turbo Buggy Categories, we have 6 entries including Paramveer S. Malle, Shajad Khan, Qahir Rahim, Zameer Verjee, Ankush Manoj Shah and Abdul Rezak Rehan.

The 2WD Non-Turbo – car category saw the entry of Safina Khan,Rajveer Thethy, Ahil Adil Khan, Sam Karangatha and Sameer Nanji.

The 2WD Turbo Baggy will see the battle of Ian Duncan, Lovejyot Singh, Kunal Patel Bimal, Shaz Esmail, Zuber Manji, Azaad Manji, Nisha Pandya, Noor Rehman, Deepal Shah and Prabhjeet Singh Sagoo.

The 4WD Turbo Sees Murage Waigwa, Salim Dodi, Erick Bengi, Aakif Virani, John Ngugi, LoveJyot Singh, Eugene Kariuki, Mcrae Kimathi, Sahib Omar and Junaid Shah battle it out for the price.

Bambino Category will see Karamveer Singh Rooprai will battle it out with J Yuvraj Rajput.

The Quad Category will see the battle between Wayne Fernandes and Gurraj Sign as the main highlight of the category.

In the Open Class Category Kirit Rajput, Anish Chouhan, Hamza Anwar, Rehan Shah, Baldev Chagger, Asan Khan and Maxine Wahome will battle it out for the prize.

Pee Wee Category only saw one entry of Kiana Rajput.