Kibet, Jepkemei win Ndalat Gaa Cross Country titles

Kibet, Jepkemei win Ndalat Gaa Cross Country titles

Michael Kibet and Daisy Jepkemei are the winners of the 11th edition of the Isaiah Kiplagat Memorial Ndalat Gaa Cross-Country held Saturday in Ndalat, Nandi County.

Kibet ruled the senior men’s race from start to finish clocking 30:23.4 ahead of Emmanuel Kipchirchir who finished second in 30:25.3 while African Games 5000m champion Robert Kiprop placed third in 30:36.8.

Kibet who won the men’s 5000m race at the national trials said he didn’t expect to win after he placed 91 in last year’s race where he competed in junior category.

“It was a tough race,  a new course and also it was sunny but I am very happy to win. Actually I didn’t expect to win,” said Kibet.

The athlete alongside Daniel Simiyu had qualified to represent Kenya at the just concluded World Championships but we’re barred from the competition since they had not conformed with the IAAF regulations on doping.

Although he felt disappointed, Kibet now looks ahead for next year’s Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan.

“It was the worst experience to be left out of the team. I expected to travel but I was told I could not compete because of the anti-doping regulations. I am now eyeing for the Olympics,” said Kibet.

In the corresponding women’s race,  Daisy Jepkemei took top honours in 34:12.3 while the World Junior Cross Country champion Beatrice Chebet came second in 34:49.6 as Jackline Chepwogen closed the podium in 35:01.6

Jepkemei who finished third in last year’s race said hard work and determination let to her victory.

“Last year I was third and I went back and worked alot in my training and that is only my secret,” she said.

Chebet was however content with her second place finish in her maiden senior race.

“I am happy with my position in that it is my first race in senior. I am looking forward to even more success in future although I know alot of competition awaits me at the senior category,” said Chebet.

Gedion Rono raced to victory in the men’s 8km race clocking 24:22.3 as Reuben Longosiwa placed second in 24:43.1 while Francis Langat was third 24:43.6.

In the women’s 6km race, Keringet-based Edna Jebitok reigned supreme in 20:24.5 as Jackline Jerono (20:32.6) and Maureen Jerotich (20:44.8) finished second and third respectively.

Other events witnessed were the children 500m, 1km, 2km and 4km as well as 2km for the elderly.

The annual event is also marked in honour of the former Athletics Kenya president – the late Isaiah Kiplagat.

Summarised Results

Senior men 10km
1 Michael Kibet  30:23.4
2 Emmanuel Kipchirchir 30:25.3
3 Robert Kiprop 30:36.8
4 Rodgers Maiyo 30:38.5
5 Titus Kipsigei 30:50.9
6 Simon Letaya 30:55.4

Senior women 10km
1 Daisy Jepkemei 34:12.3
2 Beatrice Chebet 34:49.5
3 Jackline Chepwogen 35:01.6
4 Daisy Kimeli 35:28.8
5 Qualine Kiprop 35:36.2
6 Nancy Chepkemoi 35:39.2

Junior men 8km

1 Gedion Rono 24:22.3
2 Reuben Longosiwa 24:43.1
3 Francis Langat 24:43.6
4 Felix Kibet 24:49.7
5 Weldon Kipkirui 24:54.9
6 Shadrack Chirchir 24:56.7

Junior women 6km

1 Edna Jebitok 20:24.5
2 Jackline Jerono 20:32.6
3 Maureen Jerotich 20:44.8
4 Deborah Jemutai 20:49.7
5 Naomi Chepngeno 20:54.9