Kenyan World Cross team intensify training in Embu

The national Cross Country team has intensified its training ahead of the 2019 World Cross Country Championships in Aarhus, Denmark set for March 30.

The 32-member team arrived at their Embu camp five days ago when they began light training but now have speed work on schedule, according to coach David Letting.

Kenya led the medals table with a haul of 12 – four gold, five silver, three bronze – during the previous edition held in Uganda and Letting says they intend to top the world again.

“The athletes reported on Friday and started training right away. We have surveyed the area and it is really good for our training. So we are set. Our focus is to do well at the championships,” he said.

Letting said the training will include a focus on team work as cross country victories are as a result of collective effort from each member of the team as opposed to individual brilliance.

“We have senior men, senior women, junior men, junior women and relay. All are present and ready. This is cross country; it is team work, not individual exploits. So the team has to rally together for the much needed success,” he said.

The 3,000m steeplechase world champion Conseslus Kipruto who is making a maiden appearance, will lead the relay team which is expected to replicate its annual eye-catching performances since the introduction of the race.

Kipruto is confident they will bring home the medal.

“I believe in the coaches and my team mates. The selected team is brilliant. I am full of we will do well at the championships, the nation relies on us. Since the inception of the race Kenya has always been winning. We will bring the medal home,” he charged.

He will be joined by Elijah Manangoi (1500m),  Charles Simatwo, Jarinter Mawia, Winfred Mbithe  and former world cross champion Agnes Tirop Agnes.

World 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri leads the senior women’s line up as she seeks to add a world cross title to her burgeoning medals cabinet and will be joined by world 3,000m record holder Beatrice Chepkoech and Lilian Kasait.



Senior Women 10km

Hellen Obiri

Beatrice Mutai

Beatrice Chepkoech

Deborah Samum

Eva Cherono

Lilian Kasait


Senior Men 10km

Amos Kirui

Evans Keitany

Rodgers Kwemoi

Richard Kimunyan

Geoffrey Kamworor

Rhonex Kipruto

Emmanuel Bor (reserve)

Paul Tanui (reserve)

Mixed Relay

Conseslus Kipruto

Elijah Manangoi

Charles Simatwo

Jarinter Mawia

Winfred Mbithe

Agnes Tirop

Junior Women 6km

Beatrice Chebet

Betty Jepkemboi

Jackline Rotich

Agnes Mwikali

Lydia Jeruto

Mercy Chepkorir

Junior Men 8km

Samuel Chebole

Emmanuel Kiprotich

Leonard Bett

Edwin Koskei

Charles Karuri

Kibet Kandie