Eliud Kipchoge on course for top IAAF award after making shortlist

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge has made it to the final list of five athletes who will battle it out for this year’s Male World Athlete of the Year accolade.

Others are Joshua Chetptegei of Uganda, Sam Kendricks of USA, Noah Lyles of USA and Karsten Warholm of Norway.

The five were among the 11 athletes initially shortlisted last month and were subjected to a voting process that closed last week.

Kipchoge will be seeking to win the award for a second successive year after another successful season that saw him win the London Marathon title and recently became the first human being to complete a 42km race in less than two hours.

Kenya’s world 1500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot however did not make it to the final shortlist.

The winner will be announced on November 23 at the World Athletics gala to be held in Monaco, France.

Full list of the finalists

Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)
– won world cross-country title in Aarhus
– won world 10,000m title in a world-leading 26:48.36
– won Diamond League 5000m title

Sam Kendricks (USA)
– won world pole vault title
– cleared a world-leading 6.06m to win the US title
– won 12 of his 17 outdoor competitions, including the Diamond League final

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
– won London Marathon in a course record of 2:02:37
– ran 1:59:40.2 for 42.195km in Vienna

Noah Lyles (USA)
– won world 200m and 4x100m titles
– ran a world-leading 19.50 in Lausanne to move to fourth on the world all-time list
– won Diamond League titles at 100m and 200m

Karsten Warholm (NOR)
– won the world 400m hurdles title
– undefeated indoors and outdoors at all distances, including at the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships
– clocked world-leading 46.92, the second-fastest time in history