Baringo runs the rule at Central Rift Championship as Kwemoi shines

Hosts Baringo County ran the show bagging the overall title in the Central Rift Championship held at the Metipso Primary School in Eldama Ravine on Saturday.

The 2016 World under-20 10,000m champion Rodgers Kwemoi of Uasin Gishu Count clinched the 10km title in 30:20.4 minutes with Baringo’s Richard Kimunyan following closely in 30:24.7, as Evans Keitany, also from Uasin Gishu, closed the podium places  in 30:30.1.

In the corresponding women’s race, Qualine Kiprop of Baringo won in 36:00.7 ahead of Joan Jepkemboi of Uasin Gishu who came in second in 36:07.0 as Faith Lingaa of Baringo took the third slot in 36:30.1.

Lydia Jeruto of Baringo claimed victory in the 6km junior women race in 20:36.6, six seconds ahead of Nandi County duo of Betty Jepkemoi and Roselida Jepketer who finished second and third in 20:42.7 and 21:05.2 respectively.

In the 8km junior men race, home boy Gedion Rono cut the tape in 24:09.7, followed by Vincent Kiprotich of Uasin Gishu who timed  24:33.3. Emmanuel Kiplangat from Baringo came third in 24:37.3, while world under-20 2000m steeplechase silver medalist Cleophas Kandie Meyan also from Baringo finished fifth in 25:54.7.

Mutai stuns Chebet

In the South Rift region competition held at the Kericho Teachers Training College, Davis Kiplagat claimed the honours in 29:02 ahead of  Amos Kirui who clocked 29:10 as Dominic Kiptarus finished third in 29:11.

In the senior women category, the 2016 African Cross Country champion Beatrice Mutai stunned Sandrafelis Chebet to win the race in 32:02 as Chebet settled for the second place in 32:42. The 2013 Africa Youth 1  ,500m silver medalist Eva Cherono came in third in 32:59.

Edwin Kiplagat won the 8km junior men race in 23:18,  followed by Emmanuel Kiprono who was timed at 23:19 as the World Under-18 2000m steeplechase champion Leonard Kipkemoi Bett came in third in 23:23

World under-20 5 ,000m champion Beatrice Chebet ran the show in the junior women 6km race crossing the finish line in 19:22 ahead of Janet Chepkoech (19:34) and Deborah Chemutai (19:44) who finished second and third respectively

latest stories