Githurai, Syokimau among estates cautioned over coronavirus cases

Githurai, Syokimau among estates cautioned over coronavirus cases

Health CS Mutahi Kagwe has appealed to residents of Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Murang’a after several cases of coronavirus emerged.

Speaking during the Press briefing on Monday, the CS said they have a special responsibility to guard against the spread of coronavirus from Nairobi county.

“Already, a number of your residents have contracted the virus, and we have isolated them for treatment. In Machakos for instance, we have seven (7) cases; Syokimau (2) and one (1) each in Athi River, Kamulu, Rubi Garden Estate, Kithunguni and Viraji,” he said.

In Kiambu, areas listed are Githurai, Githurai 45, Ndongoru, Thindigua, Tinganga, Waithaka and Wataalam which have one coronavirus case each.

And in Kajiado, the CS said cases have been reported in Kitengela, Matasia and Ongata Rongai.

There have been two cases listed in Murang’a: from Gatanga and Lumumba Drive.

The Health CS said all the cases are being treated in various hospitals adding that: “…we hope they will be the last of the cases in your counties.”

On Monday, 11 new cases of coronavirus cases in Kenya were confirmed.

Seven of them are from Mombasa: specifically Bondeni (3), Miritini (1) and other parts of the county (3).

The rest of the new cases are from Ruaka in Kiambu County.

On April 6, President Uhuru Kenyatta movement in and out of the Nairobi metropolitan area.

He designated the Nairobi metropolitan area as Nairobi city county; parts of Kiambu County up to Chania River bridge, Thika, Rironi, Ndenderu, Kiambu Town; parts of Machakos County upto Athi River including Kathani; parts of Kajiado County including Kitengela, Kiserian, Ongata Rongai, and Ngong town.

The President said the move is aimed at combating the spread of the coronavirus to other parts of the country since over 80% of Kenya’s reported cases have been recorded in Nairobi.

latest stories