Revenue formula: Senate fails to agree for record ninth time, forms 12-member committee

Revenue formula: Senate fails to agree for record ninth time, forms 12-member committee

A ruling by Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka denying Nominated Senators to vote on behalf of Senators who had been arrested forced the government side to change tact and call for dialogue in the revenue sharing stalemate.

The Senators argued and exchanged words the whole day on whether to continue with the debate after their colleagues – Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), Steve Lelegwe (Samburu) and Christopher Langat (Bomet) – were arrested with many saying it was a strategy by government to deny the ‘Team Kenya’ side a stab at the Monday vote.

The Senators however foresaw the danger and wrote to the Speaker denying Nominated Senators from their counties voting rights on the now contentious motion.

“Given what the constitution and the standing orders say, and we are guided by the constitution and the standing order, my hands are tied, there is nothing that I can do but to say that we will follow the constitution,” Speaker Ken Lusaka ruled amid jubilation from the self-styled ‘Team Kenya’ Senators.

The ruling made the government side to quickly move for an adjournment motion that they had hitherto opposed when Tharaka Nithi Senator Prof Kithure Kindiki proposed it.

Siaya Senator James Orengo appealed to the House to give dialogue another chance, a motion that was supported by Bungoma’s Moses Wetangula, Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi) and Irungu Kang’ata (Murang’a).

Earlier, the Senators exchanged harsh words and piled pressure on the Speaker to adjourn the session until their colleagues are in the House.

“Mr. Speaker, if you cannot sit on that chair, this is a good time to resign because I can sit on that seat…because it’s rumored you are under pressure, pressure from who? Did God call you this morning?’’ Posed Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Jnr.

After all the drama during the day, the Senate for a ninth time failed to get consensus only forming a 12-member committee that will be co-chaired by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and his Nairobi counterpart  Johnson Sakaja.

The committee will include Senators Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (Makueni), Mahamud Mohamed (Mandera), Steward Madzayo (Kilifi), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Anwar Oleitiptip (Lamu), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and John Kinyua (Laikipia).