Parliament To Debate NCIC Commissioners Report

The Justice and Legal Affairs Committee has already approved the names of 15 shortlisted candidates.  Among those interviewed is the commission’s former Chairman Dr. Mzalendo Kibunjia, former National Assembly Speaker Francis ole Kaparo, former TJRC chairperson Tecla Namachanja and former Teso MP Albert Ekirapa among others.


The Committee’s chair Samuel Chepkonga says that if all the 15 names are approved by MPs,  President Uhuru Kenyatta will have the liberty to select 7 NCIC commissioners from the pool of 15.


The term in office of former NCIC commissioners expired in September last year but the government is yet to pick new commissioners to replace them.


By Wangui Ngechu