NASA forms a seven-man team to push for fresh elections

NASA forms a seven-man team to push for fresh elections

The National Super Alliance (NASA) on Friday unveiled a seven member committee that is mandated to guide, facilitate and co-ordinate their push for fresh elections.

The team, led by former senators Boni Khalwale and Johnston Muthama unveiled the committee members comprising of ; Economist and lead NASA political analyst Dr. David Ndii,  Judith Sijeny, Hamida Kibwana, Mutakha Kangu, Oduor Ong’wen, Koitamet Olekina and Peter Mathuki.

Speaking to the media at Okoa Kenya offices in Nairobi, Khalwale said that the committee would further set up a national secretariat to act as the center of the activities of the People’s Assembly which is part of NASA’s plan to bar President Uhuru Kenyatta from ruling after he won the repeat presidential election.

While accusing President Uhuru Kenyatta of allegedly imposing an “authoritarian rule”, the coalition further insisted that they will continue to push for the removal of President Kenyatta from power.

“We wish to make it very clear that Kenyans cannot, and shall not, accept the blatant usurpation of power by the Jubilee administration and its determined effort to revert this great nation to an authoritarian rule, and the attendant abuse of our human rights,” said Khalwale

The leaders also condemned the police for their actions during NASA’s planned memorial on Tuesday which was also President Kenyatta’s inauguration day and for the chaos witnessed during Raila Odinga’s return from the US.

“This unashamed abuse was plain for the entire world to see when we sought to hold a peaceful memorial service for 26 supporters who were killed by trigger happy security forces.” Said Khalwale

“Their only crime was to welcome our leader, Rt. Honorable, Raila Odinga upon his return from overseas engagement,” added Khalwale.