Kenya COVID Fund gets Ksh.3.7B in donations

Kenya COVID Fund gets Ksh.3.7B in donations

The COVID-19 Emergency Response Fund Board has received donations totaling Ksh. 3.7billion.

Ksh. 3.2billion was received by the committee in cash while Ksh. 500million in kind.

Board Chairperson of the Kenya COVID Fund Jane Karuku said the committee will procure Personal Protective Equipment (PPEs) in the coming days that will be distributed to key health centers and counties on a need basis.

Saturday’s donations were from the Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM), Teachers Service Commission (TSC), Communication Authority of Kenya (CA), Naivas Supermarket, Kenya Tea Development Authority (KTDA), Bank Of Baroda and Kikuyu Council of Elders.

KAM has also distributed food packs to over 1000 communities and over 500 sweaters to children’s homes in Nakuru.

“This is only part of the broader initiatives being undertaken by the Association including county-based initiatives to provide water facilities and PPEs to frontline workers,” said KAM Chairman Sachen Gudka.

President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed the COVID-19 Emergency Response Fund Board on Monday, March 30, 2020. The President commissioned the Board on April 2, 2020.

The principal objective of the Fund is to mobilize resources for an emergency response towards containing the spread, effects and impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The resources seek to support the government’s efforts in the supply of medical facilities and equipment and support for vulnerable communities with their immediate needs, including food.

Members of the Board are Mr. Michael Joseph (Board Member Safaricom PLC and Chairman Kenya Airways); Mr. Wachira Waruru (MD Royal Media Services); Dr. James Mwangi (MD and CEO Equity Group); Mr. Joshua Oigara (CEO Kenya Commercial Bank Group); Dr. Narendra Raval (Chairman Devki Steel Mills); Mr. Jeremy Awori (CEO Absa Bank Kenya); Mr. Mohammed Hersi (Chairman Kenya Tourism Federation); Ms. Phyllis Wakiaga (CEO Kenya Association of Manufacturers); Dr. Fred Matiang’i (CS Interior and Coordination of National Government); Wycliffe A. Oparanya (Chairman, Council of Governors and Governor Kakamega County) and Mr. Kennedy W. Kihara (PAS Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet).

latest stories