Aden Duale axed, Amos Kimunya appointed new Majority Leader

Aden Duale axed, Amos Kimunya appointed new Majority Leader

Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya has replaced Aden Duale as the Leader of Majority in the National Assembly.

The changes were effected on Monday during a Jubilee Parliamentary Group meeting at the KICC chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

At the same meeting, MP Adan Keynan took over from Kimunya as the secretary of the Jubilee Coalition National Assembly PG.

The Party Leader said the Coalition, through the new Leader of Government Business and Majority Chief Whip, will communicate changes in the composition of House Committees to the Speaker of the National Assembly by Thursday, 25th June 2020.

The Head of State reminded the legislators to focus on the Coalition’s development agenda and advised them against engaging in divisive politics.

Deputy President William Ruto whose camp has been targeted in an ongoing political purge was also in attendance.

The latest comes just days after 126 out 179 Jubilee MPs signed a petition, supporting Duale’s ouster.

During the last PG meeting at the State House on June 2, National Assembly Majority Whip Benjamin Washiali and his deputy Cecily Mbarire were shown the door.

Navakholo MP Emmanuel Wangwe replaced Washiali while Igembe North MP Maoka Maore replaced Mbarire.

The PG meeting also resolved to effect further changes at the House committees as part of the ongoing purge to kick out all MPs who were against the president’s agenda.

The Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi on Wednesday in a communication to the house, confirmed the removal of Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa from the Budget Committee that he was chairing.

Also ousted was Gladys Shollei from the Delegated Legislation Committee.

Victor Munyaka will no longer chair the Sports Committee, while William Cheptumo has been de-whipped from the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee that he chaired.

Others shown the door include Moses Kuria, Alice wahome, Robert Pukose, Fred Kapondi, Joyce Korir, Khatib Mwashetani and Catherine Waruguru.

latest stories