NOC-K boss Mutuku elected as board member of Anoca Zone V

NOC-K boss Mutuku elected as board member of Anoca Zone V

Francis Mutuku, Olympics Kenya acting Secretary General was on Saturday elected as Secretary General of the Executive Board of Association of The Association of National Olympic Committees – Zone V (ANOCA Zone V).

ANOCA Zone V is an umbrella organisation of eleven (11) National Olympic Committees (NOCs) in the region; Kenya, Egypt, Uganda, Somalia, Tanzania, Rwanda, Eritrea, South Sudan, Sudan, Ethiopia, Burundi.

Dr. Ashebir Woldegiorgis Gayo of Ethiopia has been elected as President while Dr. Tong Deran, of South Sudan is the newly elected Treasurer General and Vice President, Hussam Khojaly of Sudan. Other positions filled were of Committee Members. IOC Members in these countries are automatic members of the Executive Board, which included Olympics Kenya President Dr. Paul Tergat.

Mr. Mutuku commenting on his re-election said, ‘This is a great opportunity to serve in the regional body. We will get straight into setting structural foundations, establishing commissions & creating collaboration within countries with athletes focused programs. This collaboration will see us tap into comparative advantages of each country. We can only be stronger together, therefore together we need got increase activities within the region.’

‘We will also strategise on ways to support and implement Agenda 2020 + 5 in the region,” he concluded.