Randiek retains seat as KHU boss

Nashon Randiek retained his seat as the president of the Kenya Hockey Union (KHU) after beating his only competitor, Nairobi Simba’s and hockey legend Inderjit Singh Matharu for the top post in the elections conducted on Saturday by the hockey body at the Parklands Sports Club.

The win will now extend the reign of the retired Colonel and his new team to 2022 in alignment with the Sports Act 2013.

Randiek will be deputised by Elyna Shiveka and Mike Malungu as the First ans Second Deputy Presidents respectively. Shiveka retains her seat after overcoming Doreen Otieno.

Outgoing Deputy Match and Fixtures Secretary Wycliffe Ongori Momanyi was voted in the new Secretary General after out muscling the Nairobi Hockey Association (NHA) Executive Director Tom Olal.

Godfrey Bila retains his post as the Treasurer against NHA’s Ruth Wangechi Gachuhi with Syed Farhat elected to deputise him unopposed.

Similarly, Jane Nyamogo has recaptured her seat as the Match and Fixtures Secretary in the expense of James Oyungi  with Moses Majiwa  set to deputise her after he was elected unopposed.

For the post of Public Relations officer, incumbent Leonard Mutuku managed to retain his seat shrugging off challenges from Kaplawi Solawki and Michael Mwangi who were all eyeing the seat.

KHU was given green light to proceed with their AGM on Thursday after the High Court through Justice Joseph Sergon dismissed an application seeking to stop the AGM and filed by a rival body Hockey Kenya Federation (HFK) through its vice chairman George Jalang’o.

Randiek will now be tasked with the duty of restructuring Hockey in the country to its old glory after a recent slump that saw national teams (men and women) register dismal performances in the African Cup of Nations Championships held in Ismailia, Egypt last year.

Nineteen contestants had shown interest in the 10 vacancies that were up for grabs since the term of the outgoing officials ended in December, 2017.

Full list of elected officials;

President – Nashon Randiek

First Deputy president– Elynah Shiveka

Second Deputy President – Michael Malungu

Secretary General– Wycliffe Momanyi

Treasurer– Godfrey Bila

Deputy Treasurer– Syed Farhat Shah

Match and Fixtures secretary– Jane Nyamogo

Deputy match and fixtures secretary– Moses Majiwa

Public Relations Officer– Leonard Mutuku

latest stories