Imran Okoth finally sworn in as new Kibra MP

Imran Okoth finally sworn in as new Kibra MP

Orange Democratic Movement’s (ODM) Bernard Imran Okoth on Tuesday formally took oath as the new Kibra Member of Parliament.

Mr. Okoth, flanked by Jubilee Nominated MP Maina Kamanda and Mathare legislator Anthony Oluoch, was sworn in by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi.

Mr. Okoth now steps into the shoes left behind by his brother, former area legislator, Ken Okoth who succumbed to cancer in July this year.


— National Assembly KE (@NAssemblyKE) November 19, 2019

A section of MPs have since come out to welcome him to the National Assembly.

“Really emotional day for me to welcome Imran Okoth, the new MP for Kibra, to parliament, and to know for sure that the legacy of my late friend and parliamentary colleague Kenneth Okoth will live on,” said Kamukunji MP Yusuf Hassan.

— Yusuf Hassan MP (@MPyusufhassan) November 19, 2019

— Hon. Abdikarim Osman (@HonAbdikarim) November 19, 2019

— Babu Owino (@HEBabuOwino) November 19, 2019

Mr. Okoth emerged winner in the hotly-contested November 7 Kibra by-election garnering 24,636 votes to his closest rival and Jubilee Party candidate McDonald Mariga’s 11,230 votes.

At third position was Eliud Owalo (ANC) with 5,275 votes followed by Khamisi Butichi (Ford Kenya) in fourth place with 260 votes.

A total of 24 candidates contested for the Kibra parliamentary seat which fell vacant following the death of Ken Okoth.

The mini poll in Kibra was marred by several incidents of alleged voter bribery and pockets of violence which saw at least three people arrested.

latest stories