CORD expels 8 rebel MPs from House committees

CORD expels 8 rebel MPs from House committees

The opposition CORD coalition has cracked the whip against rebel MPs with the removal of eight of the legislators from National Assembly Committees.

Among those affected by the new move is Budalangi MP Ababu Namwaba, who recently defected from ODM and formed Labour Party, and nominated MP Isaac Mwaura, who defected to the Jubilee Party.

National Speaker Justin Muturi has now directed Minority leader Francis Nyenze to replace those removed from the committees within 14 days.

ODM has already started taking disciplinary measures against the eight MPs and two governors who recently defected to Jubilee Party.

The rebel MPs and Marsabit Governor Ukur Yatani and his Kwale counterpart Salim Mvurya who recently appeared before the ODM disciplinary committee denied defecting from the party.

They however decried the lack of internal democracy in the party and the shifting political landscape in the country.

The renegades, who heeded disciplinary summons by the party, also claimed they fear being rigged out or losing their re-election bids due to ODM alleged unpopularity in their regions.