Brigid Kosgei makes top five list for prestigious IAAF award

Women marathon world recorder holder Brigid Kosgei is among the final five nominees for the prestigious 2019 IAAF Female World Athlete of the Year.

Kosgei who recently set the record at the Chicago Marathon has had a good year winning the London Marathon in 2:18:20 before setting the World Record in Chicago clocking 2:14:04

Kosgei will battle it out with Sifan Hassan of Netherlands, Shelly-Ann Fraser of Jamaica, Dalillah Muhammad of the USA and Yulimar Rojas of Venezuela.

Meanwhile, Eliud Kipchoge, widely regarded as the greatest male marathoner of all time will also be battling it out for the Male World Athlete of the Year award. Kipchope recently made history by becoming the first man to run a marathon in under two hours when he clocked 1:59:40 at the INEOS Challenge in Austria

The awards gala is penciled for November 23 in Monaco, France where Kosgei will be hoping to bag the accolade.

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)

– Won world 100m and 4x100m titles in world-leading times of 10.71 and 41.44

– Won Pan-American 200m title

– Won seven of her 10 races at 100m

Sifan Hassan (NED)

– Won world 1500m and 10,000m titles in world-leading times of 3:51.95 and 30:17.62

– Won Diamond League 1500m and 5000m titles

– Broke world mile record with 4:12.33 in Monaco

Brigid Kosgei (KEN)

– Set a world record of 2:14:04 to win the Chicago Marathon

– Won the London Marathon

– Ran a world-leading 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course

Dalilah Muhammad (USA)

– Broke world record with 52.20 at the US Championships

– Improved her own world record to win the world 400m hurdles title in 52.16

Additional reporting by IAAF

latest stories