Yego, Chepkoech lead All African Games squad

Olympic silver medalist Julius Yego and World 3,000m steeplechase record holder Beatrice Chepkoech are among the stars who made the cut for this year’s African Games following the national trials held in Kasarani.

Yego, the reigning African champion, threw a leading 78.02m with Alexander Kiprotich who managed 74.79m the only other javelin to hit the qualification mark for the continental games.

Although Yego was unfortunate to injure his ankle later on, he is optimistic to recover in time ahead of the continental championships.

“I have no worries it is just a minor issue I don’t think it will affect my preparations for the Games,” said Yego.

On her part, Chepkoech ran to a comfortable victory in the 3000m steeplechase clocking 9:26.64 ahead of Mercy Wanjiru (9:28.85) and Roselyn Chepngetich (9:32.10).

In the corresponding men’s race Benjamin Kigen ran the rule in 8:16.43 ahead of Joash Kiplimo who came in second in 8:21.94 as the duo earned direct tickets.

The 2008 Olympic Games 5000m bronze medalist Edwin Soi announced his comeback to track as he stunned the Olympic Games 10,000m silver medalist Paul Tanui to stroll to victory in 10000m.

Soi clocked 27:55.3 with Tanui finishing second in 27:58.06 as Charles Mneria clinched the third ticket to the Games.

“It feels good to once again represent my country it has been a while now and I can promise you to expect a medal in Morocco,” said Soi.

A powerful finish from Lilian Kasait ensured she reigned supreme in the women’s 5000m race clocking 15:23.7 ahead of the World Under-20 5000m champion Beatrice Chebet who finished second in 15:27.8.

Lydia Jeruto placed third in 15:28.1 to qualify for the Games as well.

On the men’s category Robert Kiprop from Elgeyo Marakwet County ran the show as he claimed victory in 13:37.31 followed by Richard Kimunyan (13:37.81) as the World Under 20 5000m champion Edward Zakayo settled for the third spot in 13:38.51.

Qualyne Kiprop (4:06.26), Mary Kuria (4:07.22) and Locked Chemining (4:08.67) were ranked first to third in the women’s 1500m.

In the men’s race, the World Under 20 1500m champion George Manangoi showed his class as he powered to victory in 3:36.20 ahead of Boaz Kiprugut (3:36.85) and Jonathan Sawe (3:38.46) who came in second and third respectively.

African High Jump champion Mathew Sawe managed a jump of 2.25m to be the sole representative of Kenya in the Games.

African 800m silver medalist Emmanuel Korir won the men’s 400m in 44.55 ahead of Joseph Phogishio who also hit the qualification time.

In the women’s race, the national record of 51.45 held by Ruth Waithera was shattered by Hellen Syombua who clocked 51.09.

“I can only attribute this to hard work in training,” said Syombua.

The three-day championships was being used to select Kenya team to the African Games to be held on August 23 to September 3 in Casablanca, Morroco.

Full Team
10,000m men
Edwin Soi
Paul Tanui
Charles Mneria

10,000m Women
Irene Kimais
Monica Chirchir

5000m Men
Robert Kiprop
Richard Kimunyan
Edward Zakayo

5000m Women
Lilian Kasait
Beatrice Chebet
Lydia Jeruto

3000m Steeplechase Men
Benjamin Kigen
Joash Kiplimo

3000m Steeplechase Women
Beatrice Chepkoech
Mercy Wanjiru

1500m Men
George Manangoi
Boaz Kiprugut

1500m Women
Qualyne Kiprop
Mary Kuria
Loice Chemining

800m Men
Cornelius Tuwei
Nicholas Kiplagat
Abel Kipsang

800m Women
Eglay Nalianya
Naumi Korir

400m Men
Emmanuel Korir
Joseph Poghisio
Raymond Kibet

400m Women
Hellen Syombua
Mary Moraa
Lindah Kageha

400m Hurdles Men
Emmanuel Langat
Edward Ngunjiri
Haron Koech

400m Hurdles Women
Fancy Kerubo

200m Men
Mike Mokamba
Dan Kiviasi

200m Women
Maureen Thomas
Eunice Kadogo

110m Hurdles Men
William Mbevi
Kiprono Kosgei

100m Hurdles Women
Carolyn Waiganjo

100m Men
Mark Otieno

20km Walk Men
Samuel Gathimba
Simon Wachira

20km Walk Women
Emily Ngii
Grace Wanjiru

Long Jump Men
Bethwel Lagat
Isaack Kirwa

Long Jump Women
Maximilla Imali
Millicent Ndoro

Tripple Jump Men
Isaack Kirwa
Elijah Kimitei

Tripple Jump Women
Gloria Mulei

High Jump Men
Mathew Sawe

Hammer Men
Dominic Abunda

Hammer Women
Rose Rakamba

Javelin Men
Julius Yego
Alexander Kiprotich

Javelin Women
Damacile Nyakeruri

Julius Kirwa
Joseph Ngure