Vihiga United confirm Okoth as head coach as club unveils new look squad

National Super League (NSL) side Vihiga United have confirmed Sammy Okoth as their permanent head coach after a short stint on interim basis.

Experienced coach Nick Yakhama was also unveiled as the club’s technical director while Collins Oduor is the new goalkeeping trainer

The team sponsored by the Vihiga County Government has at the same time unveiled 10 new players, releasing 15 as they ready for the new season.

The club is also still still in talks with three more players to beef up the squad that was relegated from top tier last season.

“We are happy to inform our fans that we managed to retain 15 key players despite the club going down to the second tier,” said Indimuli.

Vihiga County deputy governor Patrick Saisi who is also the acting Sports minister assured the team of the county’s continued sponsorship dismissing claims that the county had stopped funding the club.

“My presence here together with Chief Officer Sports shows the county government’s commitment to sponsor the club because it is a county government entity,” said Saisi.

The new faces include premier League side Chemilil Sugar FC top goalkeeper Morgan Abuko, Kenya under 20 national team midfielder Lesley Otieno from Kariobangi Sharks, Richard Swegenye from Vihiga Sportiff who last season emerged as the top scorer in the Western FKF Provincial League, Youngster Peter Joma from Zoo Youth FC, Hillary Otieno and  Kevin Okinda from Administration Police FC, goalkeeper Kelvin Opiyo and defender Micheal Odongo from Thika United FC, Kenyatta University student Mark Owino joins the team to beef up the defense alongside another defender Absolom Onyango from Migori Youth FC.

Those who were sold by the club include Harambee Stars defender Benard Ochieng who joined Wazito FC while winger Chris Masinza and midfielder Steve Wakanya joined Kakamega Homeboyz.

Other players who parted ways with the club include strikers Amos Kigadi, Ugandan Rashid Kyabadde, Elijah Mwanzia and Godfrey Ayiro, goalkeepers Levis Opiyo, Patience Ndikuyiro and Caleb Wamalwa, Edwin Mukoya, Timothy Luda, Kevin Muhanji, David Kavaji and Edmond Mauda.

Some of the retained players include, defenders Moffat Liuva, Smith Ouko, Dennis Ombeva, John Muyesu, Zablon Khaemba

Midfielders, Victor Ademba, Patrick Okulo, Micheal Isabwa, Mustafa Sagide, and Alex Imbusia and  strikers Lawrence Luvanda, Dennis Wafula, David Saisi and Andrew Murunga alongside goalkeeper Mike Matasio.