Tickets sealed, hard work now begins for Team Kenya

Tickets sealed, hard work now begins for Team Kenya

The Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani on Saturday hosted the finest athletes in the nation who were united with one goal, making it to Team Kenya for the Commonwealth Games scheduled for  April 4-15 in Gold Coast, Australia.

And as expected, surprises were sprung as many world junior champions athletes announced their arrival in the senior competition from the juniors upstaging the seasoned athletes to bag tickets to Australia.

World Junior 3,000m champion Celilphine Chespol showed pure class as she dominated the event in her senior competition debut ahead of to be teammates Purity Kirui and Fancy Cherono.

The 18-year-old said she is thrilled by the prospect of representing her country in Commonwealth Games.

” I am happy to have made it to the team,  my main aim was to make the cut and now that I have realised that, it’s now upon us to train hard with my two colleagues when we join the camp,” Chespol disclosed.

In the corresponding men race,  two slots were available owing to the wild card awarded to Olympic Champion Conselsus Kipruto, with Abraham Kibiwott and Amos Kirui finishing first and second respectively to join the World champion in the team.

Emily Cherotich, Olympic bronze medalist Margaret Nyairera and Eglay Nalianya will lead Kenya’s assault in the 800m women race as a new look men team is made by the trio of Jonathan Kitilit, Wycliffe Kinyamal and Cornelius Tuwei.

World under-20 10,000m champion will be spearheading the 10,000m team comprising of Jonathan Muia and Kipkoech Bett as they attempt to end Kenya’s jinx in the event.

Rodgers Chumo Kwemoi of Kenya leads the men's 10,000m final ahead of Eritrea's Aron Kifle and Uganda's Jacob Kiplimo at the IAAF World U20 Championships Bydgoszcz 2016 (Getty Images) © Copyright

Kwemoi said he hopes to make it to the podium even though it will be his first senior appearance.

“It feels good to make the cut,  now I am focused on winning a medal”, said Kwemoi.

World Champions

As much as new blood enters the team, World champions also made a good account of themselves as they made the trip.

Apart from Conselsus Kipruto (3,000m SC) and Hellen Obiri (5,000m), former javelin World Champion Julius Yego who is also the defending champion in the competition will be defending the crown he won four years ago.

The 2015 400m world champion Nicholas Bett who led his brother Aron Koech to a top-two finish is another heavy-weight that bagged the ticket.

After the rigorous activity carried across two days a total of 65 athletes were chosen and will be under the stewardship of seven officials.

Full team

Women 20km walk

Grace Wanjiru

Linda Waweru

Men 20km Walk

Samuel Gathimba

Women 10,000m

Sandrafelis Chebet

Stacy Ndiwa

Beatrice Mutai

Women 400m Hurdles

Maureen Jelagat

Men 5000m

Edward Zakayo

Nicholas Kipkorir

David Bett

Women 5000m

Hellen Obiri

Margaret Chelimo

Eva Cherono

Men 1500m

Timothy Cheruiyot

Elijah Manangoi

Kumari Taki

Women 1500m

Beatrice Chepkoech

Winny Chebet

Mary Wangari

Men 200m

Peter Mwai

Mike Mokamba

Dan Asamba

Women 200m

Joan Cherono

Millicent Ndoro

Gladys Nthenya

Men 3000m steeplechase

Conseslus Kipruto

Abraham Kibiwott

Amos Kirui

Women 3000m steeplechase

Celliphine Chepteek Chespol

Purity Cherotich

Fancy Cherono

Men 800m

Jonathan Kitilit

Wycliffe Kimanyal

Cornelius Kipkoech

Women 800m

Emily Cherotich

Margaret Nyairera

Eglay Nalianya

Men 100m

Mark Otieno

Men 400m

Boniface Mweresa

Collins Omae

Alexander Sampao

Women 400m

Maxmilla Imali

Veronica Mutua

Men 10,000m

Rodgers Kwemoi

Jonathan Ndiku

Josephat Bett

Men 400m Hurdles

Nicholas Bett

Aaron Koech

Willy Mbevi

Men 110m hurdles

Kiprono Koskei

Men Javelin

Julius Yego

Alexander Kiprotich

Women Long Jump

Priscilla Tambunda

Men Long Jump

Bethwel Langat

Men Triple Jump

Elijah Kiplagat


Gilbert Kibiwott

High Jump

Mathew Sawe

Men marathon

Nicholas Kamakya

Kenneth Mburu

Julius Mungara

Women Marathon

Shelmith Muriuki

Sheila Jerotich

Hellen Nzembi

Team officials

Joseph Ochieng (Team manager)

Philip Ngovi (Assistant Team manager)

Mary Chege (Chaperone)

Japheth Kemei (head coach)

Julius Kirwa, Joseph Kirwa, William Murgor (Assistant coaches)