Team Kenya flagged off ahead of school games bonanza

The Kenyan teams for this year’s East Africa Secondary Schools Games in Arusha, Tanzania depart Kajiado Thursday morning ahead of the annual championship primed for August 17-26.

The over 50 teams featuring about 500 students as well as coaches and officials, will set off for Arusha tomorrow morning and are expected in the Northern Tanzanian town later in the afternoon.

The contingent will then rest on Friday before the 18th edition of the annual games gets underway proper on Saturday with schools from six countries including Kenya, Burundi, Uganda, Tanzania, Zanzibar and Rwanda set to compete for titles in volleyball, handball, football, basketball, rugby, swimming, hockey, athletics, netball and racket games.

The teams have been camping at Olekajuado and Moi Isinya secondary schools in Kajiado County where they have been fine tuning their skills since Sunday.

The squad was officially flagged off on Wednesday at Olekajuado Secondary school  by the County Commissioner Joshua Nkanatha and the County Education Director Luka Kibet.

Kenya is the overall defending champion after claiming 28 team medals; 10 gold, 8 silver and 10 bronze during last year’s showpiece held in.

Uganda came a close second after bagging a total of 25; nine gold, 10 silver and six bronze while the hosts collected 16 medals with four of them gold, five silver and seven bronze.

Here is the full list of the Kenyan teams headed to Tanzania for the East Africa fiesta-

Rugby 15’s

Kakamega- Western Region

Dagoretti- Nairobi region

Kangaru School- Eastern Region

Rugby 7’s

Upper Hill- Nairobi region

Laiser Hill- Rift Valley region

St. Peters Mumias- Western region.

Hockey- Boys

St. Anthony’s Kitale- Rift Valley

Friends School Kamusinga- Western Region

Meru School- Eastern

Hockey- Girls

St. cecilia Misikhu- Western region

John’s Girls- Coast Region

Nyamira Girls- Nyanza Region

Handball- Girls

Kirandich- Rift Valley region

Moi Girls Kamusinga- Western Region

Handball- Boys

St. Luke’s kimilili- Western Region

Mbooni Boys- Eastern Region.

Basketball- Girls

Buru Buru- Nairobi Region

Kaya Tiwi- Coast Region

Basketball- Boys

Laiser Hill Academy- Rift Valley region

Dagoretti High school- Nairobi Region.

Football Under 20- Boys

St. Anthony’s- Rift Valley

Dagoreti- Nairobi

Football Under 20- Girls

Nyakach- Nyanza

Itigo- Rift Valley

Arch Bishop Njenga- Western

Volleyball- Girls

Kwanthanze- Eastern Region

Cheptil- Rift Valley

Soweto- Nairobi Region

Volleyball- Boys

Mogonga- Nyanza Region

Lelmokwo- Rift Valley

Netball- Girls

Kaya Tiwi- Coast Region

Nyakach- Nyanza Region

latest stories