Team Kenya fine tuning for Tampere World U20 show

The Team Kenya for the IAAF World Under 20 Championships is in its final preparations before departing for Tampare, Finland on Saturday with high expectations of conquering the world once more from July 11-15.

Speaking to Citizen Digital, assistant team manager, John Kimetto said that the athletes is doing it’s final preparations ahead of the biennial continental show piece.

“We divided our training into three sections that is endurance, stamina and speed which we are currently working on as agreed with head coach Robbert Ngisirei,” Kimeto, who lead Team Kenya in picking a lion’s share of the medals at the Africa Cross Country in March, said.

Kimetto said that the group of 26 athletes composed of a defending champion, Celliphine Chepsol,  three World U18 Championships title holder and Africa Cross Country U 20 medallistsis ready to write their own history at the international arena.

As for Africa Cross Country U20 champion Rhonex Kipruto revealed that he will be targeting nothing less than the top podium place in the men’s 10,000m.

“I have been training under Brother Colm O’Connell  and now I’m under Ngisirei. Solomon (Boit) and are following the training programme to the letter. Then we approach the race as a team. Our main target is 1,2,” said Kipruto.

While Lydia Jeruto will be using the Championships to upgrade her World U18 silver to gold during the five day championships.

“Last year I was not very happy with the silver medal I had bagged. So when I went back to camp, I have been working on enduarance topping it up with long runs and other programmes provided by my coach,” said Jeruto.

During the 2016 edition in Bydgoszcz, Poland Team Kenya bagged a total of nine medals , five gold , two silver and two bronze medals.

Team Kenya to Tampere


Laban Kiplangat, Gabriel Nkaka (400m), Justus Soget, George Manangoi (1500m), Solomon Lekuta, Kipngetich Ngeno (800m), Edward Zakayo, Stanley Waithaka (5,000m), Rhonex Kipruto, Solomon Kiplimo (10,000m).Leonard Bett, Philemon Kiplagat (3000m SC), Philip Musyoka (Tripple Jump), Moitanel Mpoke, James Mucheru (400m H), Dominic Ndigiti (10,000m walk).


Mary Moraa (400m), Edinah Jebitok, Mirriam Cherop (1500m), Lydia Jeruto, Jackline Wambui (800m), Zena Jemutai, Mercy Chepkorir (3000m), Beatrice Chebet, Hellen Ekalale (5,000m) Celliphine Chespol, Mercy Chepkurui (3,000m SC).

latest stories