Sofapaka axe five players ahead of the new season

Sofapaka have parted ways with five players ahead of the 2020-21 season, president Elly Kalekwa confirmed saying they had failed to meet expectations.

The five are Brian Kayanja, Nicholas Sebwato, Cersidy Okeyo, Isaiah Wakasala, and Thomas Wainaina.

“We can confirm we have parted ways with five squad members ahead of the new season. We thank them for their services and wish them well,” a club statement read.

The exit of the five comes just a day after long-serving captain and defender George Maelo officially announced his retirement from football.

The 36-year-old player decided to call it a day after 17 years of active football which saw him also play for Police FC.

Sofapaka have been very active in the transfer window as they have already roped in seven new signings among them Michael Bodo, Isaac Mitima, Michael Karamor, Michael Bodo, Kevin Omondi, Roy Okal and Paul Kiongera.

Sofapaka will open the new season with a clash against KCB on November 22 before they take on Kakamega Homeboyz in their second fixture on November 29.