Sibling rivalry highlights SOYA school coach of the year list

    The Walgwe brothers- Thomas and Victor will seek to keep the SOYA school coach of the year award in their family after they were nominated in the category.

    The siblings have competed for most of their lives and will once again take their rivalry to Kenya’s grandest stage in sports; the annual Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year Awards gala scheduled for January 24 in Mombasa.

    After painstaking hours of pacing up and down the touchline while shouting their voices hoarse, it’s now the tacticians’ moment to bask in glory.

    Thomas guided Upper Hill rugby Sevens side to their maiden national title, beating the then defending champions Laiser Hill before crowning their enviable season with the East Africa title on an unbeaten record.

    While Victor led Dagoretti High School rugby 15’s team to winning the Nairobi Region title and finished second at the national and East Africa Games.

    Dagoretti High School’s coach Joseph Makokha, who coached their football team to a silver medal at the national games, is the second nominee from the school. The tactician guided his side to the semi-finals of the EA Games before finishing fourth.

    Another nominee for the coveted award is Kwanthanze Girls’ volleyball tactician, Justin Kigwari, who guided his team to a double; winning both the national and regional titles. This was the team’s fifth East Africa Games trophy and third in succession.

    Kakamega High School’s rugby 15’s coach Amos Wamanga also made the cut after guiding the side to reclaim the national title they had last won in 2017 which is now their 8th title.

    Under his tutelage, Kakamega High also recaptured the East Africa Games 15’s title they’d last won in 2016.

    After being deployed to Mbooni Boys from St. Luke’s Kimilili, handball coach Gerald Juma helped the team win silver medal at the national finals, which earned his side their maiden ticket to the regional Games.

    Others in the 20-man list are Kepha Nyaundi, who led St. Joseph’s Kirandich to their maiden national title in girls’ handball. Julius Otieno, who helped Buruburu Girls’ basketball team end their 18-year trophy drought by winning the national title before finishing fourth at the East Africa Games, so is Cheptil Girls’ volleyball coach, Stephen Mutai. Cheptil finished second at both national and regional championships.


    List of the SOYA school coach of the year nominees

    1. Thomas Walgwe (Upper Hill, rugby 7s)
    2. Victor Walgwe (Dagoretti, rugby 15s)
    3. Justin Kigwari (Kwanthanze, girls’ volleyball)
    4. Joseph Makokha (Dagoretti High School, football)
    5. Amos Wamanga (Kakamega High School, rugby 15)
    6. Gerald Juma (Mbooni, boys’ handball)
    7. Kepha Nyaundi (St. Joseph’s Kirandich, girls’ handball)
    8. Julius Otieno (Buruburu Girls, basketball)
    9. Stephen Mutai (Cheptil, girls’ volleyball)
    10. Nathan Kiptoo (Mogonga PAG, boys’ volleyball)
    11. Kelvin Lugalia (St. Anthony’s, boys’ hockey)
    12. Peter Mayoyo (St. Anthony’s, boys’ football)
    13. Godfrey Muleyi (Friends School Kamusinga, boys’ hockey)
    14. Phillip Onyango (Kaya Tiwi, girls’ basketball and netball)
    15. Wekesa Wangwa (St. Luke’s Kimilil, boys’ handball)
    16. Edgar Manyara ( Wiyeta, girls’ football)
    17. Enock Wangira (Meru School, boys’ hockey)
    18. Rodgers Wekesa (Garissa Boystown, boys’ football)
    19. Chrispine Odindo (Nyakach, girls’ football)
    20. Godfrey Simiyu (Moi Girls Kamusinga, handball)