Shujaa, Lionesses squads for Spain tourney named

The Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) has named Shujaa and Lionesses squads that will travel to Spain ahead of the invitational Madrid Sevens tournament.

Shujaa will be co-captained by Nelson Oyoo and Herman Humwa while Philadephia Olando will skipper the Lionesses.

A notable miss in the Shujaa team is the world rugby series second leading try scorer Collins Injera whose absence will raise eyebrows ahead of the Olympics qualifiers.

Andrew Amonde, who captained Kenya the 2016 Summer Olympics, returns to the side alongside Willy Ambaka and the tough tackling Alvin Otieno.

Others named in the squad include: Harold Anduvati, Vincent Onyala, Willy Ambaka, Daniel Taabu, Johnstone Olindi, Mark Kwemoi, Tony Omondi, Billy Odhiambo, Derrick Keyoga, Jacob Ojee, Jeff Oluoch. Alvin Marube, Bush Mwale and Levi Amunga are included in the non-travelling reserves.

The Kenya Lionesses squad boosts of half-back Janet Okello together with Celestine Masinde, Sheilla Chajira, Ann Goretti, Stella Wafula, Naomi Amuguni, Camilla Cynthia, Linet Moraa, Enid Ouma, Diana Awino, Christabel Lindo and Sarah Oluche.

The Madrid sevens tourney comes at the back of a new sponsorship from the Kenya Charity Sweepstake whose aim is to help ready the teams ahead of Tokyo 2020 Olympics slated for the 28th July – 8th Aug 2021 in Tokyo, Japan.

The tournament that is being hosted by the Rugby federation of Spain and supported by World Rugby will feature up to 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams participating across two successive weekends starting 20/21 February.

latest stories