Oloo names final Lionesses squad for Elgon Cup return leg

Kenya’s women rugby team head coach Felix Oloo has named his final squad to face their Ugandan counterparts in the Elgon Cup second leg set for Saturday at Kyandondo Rugby Club in Kampala, Uganda.

Victoria Gichure from Northern Suburbs club as well as Winfred Maina of Stanbic Mwamba are some of the fresh faces set to make their debuts after Oloo handed them call- ups.

Others are Resolution Impala Saracens trio Anne Njeri, Winnie Owino and Diana Awino. The three have been at their best form at clubs level and the coach hopes they will replicate the same with the national team.

Millicent Opala will also be with the squad making her first appearance for the Lionesses on Saturday since 2015 when the Ladies Elgon Cup match was last played at the RFUEA grounds.

The squad is dominated by Resolution Impala Saracens and Menengai Cream Homeboyz producing six and five players respectively. Grace Adhiambo of Top Fry Nakuru also made the cut while Shamas RFC saw Bernadette Oleisia receive a spot in the squad.

Lionesses were the stronger side walloping Uganda Lady Cranes 44-13 in the first leg tie played on June 22 at Mamboleo Showgrounds in Kisumu.

Captain Philadelphia Olando who starred in the last game, will be leading the charge in search of another win. The Northern Suburbs skipper landed a hat-trick of tries in the last match.

The Saturday Elgon Cup games will also see the men team, Simbas play Uganda. Simba lost 13-16 to Uganda in the first leg.

Elgon Cup Squad

  1. Imogen Hooper – Northern Suburbs(VC) 2. Victoria Gichure- Northern Suburbs 3. Winfred Maina- Stanbic Mwamba 4. Emmaculate Owiro – Menengai Cream Homeboyz 5. Millicent Opala – Menengai Cream Homeboyz 6. Janet Owino- Menengai Cream Homeboyz (VC) 7. Michelle Akinyi – Resolution Impala Saracens 8. Leah Wambui – Menengai Cream Homeboyz 9. Winnie Owino – Resolution Impala Saracens 10. Ann Njeri – Resolution Impala Saracens 11. Christabel Lindo – Resolution Impala Saracens 12. Philadelphia Orlando – Northern Suburbs (C) 13. Celestine Masinde – Stanbic Mwamba 14. Diana Awino- Resolution Impala Saracens 15. Janet Okelo – Stanbic Mwamba 16. Stacy Atieno – Stanbic Mwamba 17. Juliet Nyambura- Northern Suburbs 18. Everlyne Kalimera – Stanbic Mwamba 19. Bernadette Oleisia – Shamas 20. Enid Ouma – Menengai Cream Homeboyz 21. Irene Atieno – Menengai Cream Homeboyz 22. Grace Adhiambo – Top Fry Nakuru 23. Stella Wafula – Resolution Impala Saracens.

latest stories