Nyagetari, Wanjiru clinch Ndakaini Half Marathon titles

Nyagetari, Wanjiru clinch Ndakaini Half Marathon titles

George Nyagetari and Rebecca Wanjiru are the winners of the 16th edition of Ndakaini Half Marathon held Saturday at Ndakaini in Muranga County.

Unlike in the previous editions, this year’s event attracted few elite athletes a factor greatly attributed to the withdrawal of the prize money.

Nyagetari covered the 21km race in 1:10.32 ahead of Isaac Llande who came second in 1:11.28 while Washington Muigai placed third in 1:12.28.

The Ngong-based Nyagetari who was chalking his first victory said he used the race in preparation for the upcoming Kisumu City Marathon slated for next month.

“This was my first time competing at Ndakaini and I am happy to have also won my first race. I was prepared for a hilly course and that has attributed to my win today,” said the 37 year old.

Second-placed Llande who trains in Limuru said although nothing was at stake for the win, the race was still competitive.

“I was enjoying myself today but it was not that easy.  I am still looking forward to do well in other races in future,” said the 35-year-old who ranked 55 at this year’s Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.

In the women’s race, the 35-year-old Wanjiru from Nyandarua County clocked 1:45.28 as Emmaculate Wanjira placed second in 1:56.58 as Sarah Wawa settled for the third spot after clocking 1:59.05

In the men’s 10km race, Peter Wahome took top honours in 10km men 32:35

with Hosea Rotich (32:47) and Zebedee Kiprono (33:47) finishing second and third respectively.

In the corresponding women’s race, Evalyne Kamau triumphed in 39.35 as Catherine Wanjiru came in second in 41.56 while Zerah Cheptoo ranked third in 44:04.

For a second year running, the event did not have prize money owing to the withdrawal of the main sponsor which in turn led to a low turn out.

Ndakaini Environmental Conservation Association (NDEKA) Sports Chairman, James Mukuna, is however optimistic they will secure a sponsor for the next edition.

“We have been hit hard by the withdrawal of some sponsors but next year we will hopefully have a potential sponsor and return the cash awards,” observed Mukuna.

Other events competed in were the 10km and 5km fun race for both men and women.

Summarised results

21km men

1 George Nyagetari 1:10.32

2 Isaac Llande 1:11.28

3 Washington Muigai 1:12.28

21km women

1 Rebecca Wanjira1:45:28

2 Emmaculate Wanjiru 1:56.58

3 Sarah Wawa 1:59.05

10km men

1 Peter Wahome 32:35

2 Hosea Rotich 32:47

3 Zebedee Kiprono 33:47


10km women

1 Evalyne Kamau  39.35

2 Catherine Wanjiru 41:56

3 Zerah Cheptoo 44:04