Mwamba, Top Fry Nakuru descend on Njukiri for Embu 7s

Launched last weekend, it is all system go after the release of Embu 7s fixtures. The Kenya Cup sides, as well as Championship participants, have learned of their pool competitors and will be strategizing out ahead of the tournament kick off on 6th July.

Embu 7s is among the annual series of rugby Sevens tournaments leg run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring invited teams from across the country.

The draw consists of 16 teams piled in four groups of 4 teams per pool for the Division I tourney. Schools competition are also on the roaster to add to the 16 elite teams for Division I with 10 teams grouped in 2 pools each containing 5 teams for Division II.

Embu RFC chairman Moses Mukabane is hopeful that rugby fans from Embu county as well as those who will be traveling from Nairobi and other regions will have a wild rugby experience during the weekend tournament.

University side Mean Machine, who staged a comeback to seal a 12-7 win over Kenya Harlequin to bag last year’s Embu Sevens title, is in pool A alongside Strathmore Leos charge, Homeboyz II and Kiambu RFC.

Embu RFC playing the host have been placed in pool D together with 2016 Mwamba Cup winners Top Fry Nakuru, Catholic Monks and Thika.

Mean Machine against Masaku will be the first match of the day starting at 9amat Njukuri grounds in Embu. The play order is set to have three breaks to pave way for another game round. Host Embu RFC will be playing Top Fry Nakuru at 11 am.

Other teams gracing the event include Neighbours Meru RFC, Menengai Oilers and 16 times Kenya Cup winners Nondescripts.

Division II has two pools with pool A harboring majorly the local sides invited for the tournament. Siakango Gorillas, Kenya Science, Muranga RFC, Kirinyaga Stallions and Masaku will be battling out for pool A top position.

The invited sides from Kenya Cup will be using Embu 7s as a preparation for the national sevens circuit set to throw off on 20th July with the inaugural Kakamega 7s hosted by Western Bulls and Kabras Sugar.

Embu 7s Play order

9:00 am Mean Machine vs Masaku
9:20am Strathmore vs Murang’a RFC
9:40am Menengai Oilers vs Wakanda Makueni
10:00am Stanbic Mwamba vs Chuka Vikings
10:20am Nondescript vs Meru RFC
10:40am Northern Suburbs vs Rongai Morans
11: 00am Top Fry Nakuru vs Embu RFC
11:20am Catholic Monks vs Thika


12:00 Murang’a RFC vs Mean Machine
12:20 Masaku vs Strathmore
12:40 Chuka Vikings vs Menengai Oilers
1:00 Wakanda Makueni vs Stanbic Mwamba
1:20 Rongai Morans vs Nondescripts
1:40 Meru RFC vs Northern Suburbs
2:00 Thika vs Top Fry Nakuru
2:20 Embu RFC vs Catholic Monks


3: 00 Masaku vs Murang’a RFC
3:20 Wakanda Makueni vs Chuka Vikings
3:40 Meru RFC vs Rongai Morans
4:00 Embu RFC vs Thika


4: 30 Mean Machine vs Strathmore
4:50 Menengai Oilers vs Stanbic Mwamba
5:10 Nondescripts vs Northern Suburbs
5:30 Top Fry Nakuru vs Catholic Monks