Morans squad for Afrobasket qualifiers named

The Kenya Basketball Federation has named the Morans squad that will represent the country in the second round of this year’s Afrobasket qualifiers in Kigali Rwanda from November 25-29.

The squad that majorly consists of local based players is spearheaded by captain Griffin Ligare and Ulinzi warriors shooting guard Erik Mutoro, Bakken Bears small forward Tyler Ongwae Mas de Fes Center Bush Wamukota and US-based Preston Bungei.

The full squad consists of Griffin Ligare, Faheem Juma, Victor Bosire, Victor Ochieng, Victor Odendo, Fidel Okoth, Eric Mutoro, James Mwangi, Joseph Khaemba, Valentine Nyakinda, Ariel Okal, Ronnie Gundo, Preston Bungei, Joel Awich, Desmond Owili, Bush Wamukota and Tyler Okari.

However, Ronnie Gundo, Preston Bungei, Joel Awich, Desmond Owili, Tyler Ongwae and Bush Wamukota will join the team later next week once they are released by their clubs.

Speaking at the Nyayo stadium gymnasium, KBF chairman Paul Otula said they have formed a big squad to cushion the team in case a player contracts COVID-19

“We would like to maintain this squad such that we are safe from the impact of the pandemic.

“However we urge all of them to be disciplined and protect themselves at all times.

Kigali, Rwanda is set to host teams from 12 countries and four others competing in Alexandria, Egypt with the events staged under COVID-19 social bubbles in November 25-29.

After overcoming South Sudan in the finals of the pre-qualification games last year at the Nyayo Stadium gymnasium, Kenya will take on Angola, Mozambique, and Senegal hoping to make the cut for the finals.

The top three teams from the qualification journey will qualify for the Afrobasket Championship that will be held in Kigali, Rwanda next year