Masika named in Kenya’s CECAFA Under-20 squad

Masika named in Kenya’s CECAFA Under-20 squad

Wazito FC winger Musa Masika has been named the Kenya U20 national team’s provisional squad for the upcoming CECAFA U20 Championships in Uganda.

Masika, who was in the Harambee Stars’ Africa Nations Championships squad, headlines the team that features a chunk of players who were part of the Rising Stars squad that lost to Rwanda in the Africa U20 Cup of Nations Qualifiers in April 2018.

Notable inclusions in the squad named on Thursday by coach Stanley Okumbi include AFC Leopards’ budding defender Collins Shichenje and Emerging Stars goalkeeper Brian Bwire.

Boniface Mwangemi, Patrick Ngunyi, Alphonce Omija, Keith Imbali, and Issa Lumumba, who were part of the National U17 team that took part in the Union of North African Federations’ (UNAF) U17 tournament in Egypt in April this year, have also earned call-ups.

The team is set to kick off preparations on Tuesday, September 3, 2019, in Nairobi ahead of the two-week tournament set to be held between September 14, to September 28, 2019, in Uganda.




Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Kevin Ouru (Kakamega High), Issa Emoria (St. Anthony Sec), Bixente Otieno (Wazito)


Alphonce Omija (Gor Mahia), Tyson Omondi (Musingu High), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards), Boniface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Alvin Ochieng (Kisumu All-Stars), Brian Wepo (Nzoia Sugar), Hassan   Mwinyi (Ebwali High School), Mohammed Kazungu (St. Peters High School), Boniface Mwangemi (Dagoreti High School), Yussuf Boya (Sunflower Secondary), Arnold Onyango (Mathare United), Vincent Oluoch (St. Anthony Sec), John Otieno (Kakamega Homeboyz), Tom Teka (Kariobangi Sharks)


Joshua Nyatini (Wazito FC), Fidel Origa (Western Stima), Musa Masika (Wazito FC), John Njuguna (Ulinzi Stars), Peter Oudo (Kariobangi Sharks), Zablon Kutera (Dagoretti High), Nelson Amunga (Kisumu All-Stars), Steve Otieno (Kisumu All-Stars), Dedan Wafula Simiyu (Soy United), Stainer Musasia (FC Talanta), Keith Imbali (Gor Mahia Youth), Patrick Munyao (FC Talanta), Issa Lumumba (St. Anthony Sec), Richard Odada (Red Star Belgrade), Andre Kalama (Ligi Ndogo), Ben Stanley (Migori Youth), Clinton Okoth (Migori Youth)


Selassie Otieno (Chemelil Sugar), Jacob Onyango (St. Anthony Sec), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Patrick Ngunyi (Kariobangi Sharks), Atem Kato (St. Peters High School), Chris Owino (FC Talanta), Derrick Omondi (Wazito) Ronald Shichenje (Aspire Academy)

latest stories