KRU announces Simbas squad with 14 new faces

KRU announces Simbas squad with 14 new faces

The new faces in the 15s team are Francis Atiti, Felix Ojow, Amos Obae, Felix Okoth, William Mwanji, Griffin Chao, Obat Kuke, Tyson Maina, Richel Wangila, Matthias Osimbo, Dennis Abukuse, Abutwalib Wesonga and Quinto Ongo.

Former Kenya Sevens international Johnstone Olindi, who is currently plying his trade in Canada, has also been included in the Jerome Paarwater led side for the first time.

The trio of Andrew Siminyu, Malcolm Onsando, Thomas Okeyo- who are also turning out for professional clubs overseas- have also been included in the team’s roster.

Others in the team are Kabras Sugar’s Edward Mwaura, Clinton Juma, Samson Onsomu, Beldad Ogeta and Emmanuel Silungi-who make a return to the squad after their heroics in the just concluded Rugby Super Series.

Timothy Okwemba will dust his boots and return to the fold after missing out on national assignment since 2019.

Seasoned Simbas machineries John Okoth, Vincent Onyala, Brian Tanga, Samuel Asati and Lamech Ambetsa are away with the national sevens team, Shujaa as they prepare to hunt for a return to the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series while Kabras Sugar’s Utility half back Jone Kubu continues with ankle injury recovery after undergoing successful surgery.


LOOSEHEAD PROPS:  Francis Atiti (Menengai Oilers), Edward Mwaura (Kabras Sugar), Andrew Siminyu (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)

HOOKERS: Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Griffin Musila (KCB)

TIGHTHEAD PROPS: Wilhite Mususi (KCB), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Hillary Mwanjilwa (Kabras Sugar)

LOCKS: Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Hibrahim Ayoo (Menengai Oilers), Felix Okoth (Nakuru), Clinton Juma (Menengai Oilers), Hillary Odhiambo (Kabras Sugar), Malcolm Onsando ( SCM Rugby Timișoara, Romania), Emmanuel Silungi (KCB)

BLINDSIDE FLANKERS: George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Felix Ojow (KCB), Amos Obae (Nakuru)

OPENSIDE FLANKERS: Brian Ndirangu (Westshore RFC, Canada), Thomas Okeyo (NovaVit Griffons, South Africa), Elvis Olukusi (KCB), William Mwanji (Kabras Sugar)

NUMBER EIGHTS: Jeanson Musoga (Kabras Sugar), Elkeans Musonye (Menengai Oilers), Obat Kuke (Blak Blad)

SCRUM HALVES: Michael Wanjala (KCB), Samson Onsomu (Menengai Oilers), Brian Wahinya (KCB)

FLY HALVES: Ntabeni Dukisa (Kabras Sugar), Barry Young (Kabras Sugar), Johnstone Olindi (Westshore RFC, Canada)

LEFT WING: Beldad Ogeta (Menengai Oilers), Griffin Chao (Kabras Sugar), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar)

INSIDE CENTERS: Walter Okoth (Kabras Sugar), Tyson Maina (Menengai Oilers), Paul Mutsami (Kenya Harlequin)

OUTSIDE CENTERS: Richel Wangila (Kenya Harlequin), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Mathias Osimbo (Kabras Sugar), Dennis Abukuse (Menengai Oilers)

RIGHT WING: Joel Inzuga (Mwamba), Timothy Omela (Menengai Oilers), Alfred Orege (Kabras Sugar)

FULLBACKS: Abutwalib Wesonga (Menengai Oilers), Quinto Ongo (Impala)


Simbas Jarome Paarwater

Want to send us a story? SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp 0743570000 or Submit on Citizen Digital or email

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories