Koech, Aiyabei crowned Kirdam Road Race winners

Koech, Aiyabei crowned Kirdam Road Race winners

Moses Koech and Valerie Aiyabei are new winners of the second edition of the Kirdam Road Race held Saturday 24 in Kabarnet, Baringo County with an aim to conserve Kirandich Dam.

Koech who is also the 2018 Imenti Road Race winner registered 28:31.5 to win the 10km race beating Samuel Kiplimo and Shadrack Korir who settled for the second and third position consecutively with 28:57.8 and 29:15.6 timings.

In the women category, Aiyabei fresh from winning 2019 Eldoret City Marathon in April as well as Iten Road race clocked 32:54.53minutes to cross the finishing line ahead of Chirchir Everlyne (33:01.42) and Beatrice Chebet(33:32.41) who came second and third consecutively.

“I am very happy for the win, I came here well prepared and I was sure of the win. Last year was tough due to race markings but this time round I didn’t encounter any hardship,” Said Koech after the victory.

Aiyabei for part said the experience she had from other races made her clinch the top position.

“I ran in Eldoret City Marathon and Iten Road Race this year and the experience helped me to win today. I am very happy and for now I am waiting for my manager’s directives to know what next for me.”

Sheillah Cherono, a 13 year- old-girl from Elgeiyo Marakwet County carried the honours in 6km women race beating Londiani based Dorcas Chepkemoi and Edinah Chepkemoi.

In the 6km men category, Gideon Rono came first in 15:34.2, ahead of Shadrack Kipchirchir (15:43.8) while Emmanuel Kiplagat settled for the third spot.

In the women category, Sheillah Jerono(18:04.7) emerged victorious followed by Dorcas Chepkemoi(18:07.4) and Edna Chepkemoi(18:10.7) .

This year’s event comprised 10km main race, 6km race for the youth, 5km, corporate race, 2km race for the elderly and 3km wheelchair race.

The race began at Kapsogo area and ended at Kabarnet grounds with the 10km winners pocketing Sh70, 000, first runner-up Sh50, 000 and second runner up Sh30, 000.

The 6km winners were awarded Sh10,000 while the 2km champion for the elderly pocketed Sh10,000 with a similar amount for the wheelchair race winner.

The event which was aimed at raising Sh10million was graced by Baringo County Governor Stanley Kiptis alongside other dignitaries


10KM Men

Moses Koech-28.31.5

Samuel Kiplimo-28.57.8

Shadrack Korir-29.15.56

10KM Women

Valerie Aiyabei-32.54.53

Chirchir Everlyne-33.01.42

Beatrice Chebet-33.32.41

6KM Men

Gideon Rono – 15.34.2

Shadrack Kipchirchir-15.43.8

Emmanuel Kiplagat- 15.55.4

6KM Women

Sheila Jerono-18.04.7

Dorcas Chepkemoi-18.07.4

Edinah Chepkemoi-18.10.7


Elderly Race men winners

Josiah Laboso

Shalos Ndirangu

David Koech


Elderly Race women winners

  1. Rael Kobilo

2.Susan Koech

  1. Hellena Kipkurui


Weelchair Race Men

Richard Simon

Richard Cheroitich

James Chepkonga

Dominic Kiboino