Kishoyan reclaims 400m title as Police dominate sprints

Alphas Kishoyian of Kenya Defence Forces made light work of closest challenger Alex Sampao to reclaim the National 400m men’s title at the Nyayo National Stadium on Thursday.

Kishoyan sprinted in 45.55 seconds to the title, in what he says was the best way to shape up as for the ongoing African Games in Morocco, with Samapao of Kenya Police settling for second in 46.41.

Eastern Region’s Collins Omae closed the podium bracket in 46.42, as Kishoyan bagged the gong he last won in 2016.

“I’m so happy that I have regained my form, I can feel it. To me this is good as I head to the African Games, it’s an amazing experience,” told Kishoyan.

In the women category, Africa Under-20 champion Mary Moraa of Kenya Police clocked 52.65 to clinch her maiden national title ahead of her teammate Gladys Musyoki (54.13) and Nevian Michira from the Kenya Prisons team who registered 54.24 respectively.

Moraa is also headed for the African Games, as she was the first runners up in in the Morocco fiesta trials, and is keen to replicate her local form in the continental arena.

Qualification Time

Kenya Police also ruled in the 100m, with Ferdinand Omanyala and Monica Safania claiming the titles. Omanyala, despite running with a yet to fully recover hamstring injury, needed 10.48 seconds to overcome Samuel Chege of Kenya Defense Forces and Kenya Prisons’ Hesbon Ochieng who came in second and third in 10.73 and 10.80 respectively.

“I’m impressed that I emerged the winner, I should have done better in terms of time was it not for the injury. My target is to make the qualifying time for the Doha World Championships,” said Omanyala.

Safania stopped the timer at 12.36 ahead of Fresha Mwangi (12.69) with Ke ya Defense Forces’ Patricia Isichi making third place in 12.76 seconds.

In the 800m, 1,500m world silver medallist Timothy Cheruiyot stepped down from his specialty to win the men’s finals in 1:43.11 ahead of Jonathan Kitilit (1:44.50) as Cornelius Tuwei settled for third in 1:45.30.

Men’s 1500m finals national title went to World Champion Elijah Manangoi, who clocked 3:37.36 to beat 2015 world 20 1500m champion Kumari Taki (3:37.44) in second place as Justus Soget timed 3:38.51 in third place.

In another exciting 3,000 steeplechase race, Benjamin Kigen announced himself on the national stage by comfortably timing 8:33.06, ahead of Justus Kipkorir who came in second in 8:34.71. Kennedy Njiru closed the podium slots in 8:34.62.

Summarised Results

5000m finals (Women)

1. Sheila Chepkurui 15:23.69
2. Dorcas Kimeli 15.26.05
3. Eva Cherono 15.27.73

5000m finals (Men)

1. Daniel Simuyu 13:15.92
2. Robert Kiprop 13:21.86
3. Michael Kibet 13:25.49

1,500m (Women)

1. Winny Chebet 4:05.09
2. Selah Jepleting 4:05.43
3. Judith Jepleting 4:06.27.

800m finals (Men)

1. Timothy Cheruiyot 1:43.11
2. Jonathan Kitilit 1:44.50
3. Cornelius Tuwei 1:45.30

800m finals (Women)

1. Jackline wambui 2:00.01
2. Emily Cherotich 2:01.03
3. Jarinter Mawia 2:02.10

3,000m steeplechase (Men)

1. Benjamin Kigen 8:33.06
2. Justus Kipkorir 8:34.71
3. Kennedy Njiru 8:34.62.

200m finals (Men)

1. Mike Mokamba 20:80
2. Dan Kiviasi 20.82
3. Samuel Chege 20.95

latest stories