Kiprop, Chepkoech win StanChart Marathon titles

Kiprop, Chepkoech win StanChart Marathon titles

Elisha Kiprop and Josephine Chepkoech held off stiff challenges to be crowned the new Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon champions on Sunday.

Kiprop, who finished at this year’s Aramco Houston Half Marathon, timed 2:14:19 to win his first StanChart title after failed attempts in 2011, 2012 and 2014 ahead of Julius Kiprono (2:15:01) and Patrick Kibet (2:15:09).

Chepkoech dominated the women’s race in her full marathon debut, winning in well over a minute when she timed 2:33:11 as Cynthia Jerop and Joy Kemuma rounded off the podium places in 2:34:12 and 2:34:53.

The men’s competition was a close affair with the leading 10 all approaching the 26K mark in 1:18:00 and just three seconds between them but four fell adrift as Kiprop took charge of the race.

“I feel very tired. It was as competitive as I expected and I’m a bit surprised to win. This race gave me an opportunity in athletics so I will try to defend my title next year,” Kiprop, a Los Angeles bronze winner said in his post-interview.

Chepkoech said she was happy that she won the race which was also her maiden StanChart appearance.

“I did my best and it was a good feeling for me to win the race especially in my debut although the weather was somehow humid towards the end of the race,” Chepkoech said.

The 27-year-old who finished fourth at this year’s Chemususu Dam Half Marathon said she had been competing in road races since she has been training alone without a manager in Kapasabet, Nandi County.

“I am optimistic that I will get a manager by next year so that I can easily compete in international races,” she said.

Aiyabei reigns supreme

Valerie Aiyabei is escorted after defending her 21km title during the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 2018 in Nairobi on October 26, 2018. Photo/Oliver Ananda/Sportpicha

In the 21km race, Valary Aiyabei successfully defended her crown after beating a rich field, clocking 01:12:06, a slightly slower mark to that of last year (01:11:04).

Aiyabei who is fresh from winning the Beijing Marathon last month in China reigned supreme in the race from the start to finish saying she was ready to be the first athlete to defend her title since its inception in 2003.

“I was ready for the race, I could not compete in the full marathon because I was recently coming from the Shanghai marathon,” said Jemeli.

In the corresponding men race, 2012 champion Mathew Kiprotich triumph d crossing the finish line in 01:04:56 ahead of Paul Kibet who clocked 01:05:21 as James Kiplagat closed the podium in 01:05:33

Kiprotich who also finished as the runners up in 2011 said he was sure of claiming victory owing to his training and a number of races he has participated in this year.

Other races that took place include the 10km race, 21km Wheelchair race, CEO’s race and Family fun race.

Dignitaries who graced the event include Nairobi governor Mike Mbuvi Sonko, his Machakos Counterpart Alfred Mutua, Elgeyo Marakwet senator Kipchumba Murkomen and his counterpart Ledama Ole Kina among others.

The Standard Chartered marathon is an annual event aimed at raising funds to tackle blindness and visual impairment under ‘seeing is believing ‘ initiative.

The winners in the 42km race to pocketed KSh1.5m each.


42KM Men
1 Elisha Kiprop 02:14:19
2 Julius Kiprono 02:15:01
3 Patrick Kibet 02:15:09
4 Mathew Ngabit 02:15:43
5 David Kipkoech 02:15:47
6 Philip Kiplagat 02:16:08
7 Wilfred Kirwa 02:16:29
8 Hammington Kimaiyo 02:16:35
9 Philip Kipngetich 02:16:45
10 Cornelius Kibiwott 02:17:14

42KM Women
1 Josephine Chepkoech 02:33:11
2 Cynthia Jerop 02:34:12
3 Joy Kemuma 02:34:53
4 Rholex Jelimo 02:39:38
5 Lilian Jebitok 02: 42:23
6 Naomi Jepkorir 02:47:57
7 Viola Jepchirchir 02:49:25
8 Sylvia Jemeli 02:58:26
9 Bency Chepngeno 03: 01: 04
10 Irene Cheptoo 03:02:31


21KM Men
1 Mathew Kiprotich 01:04:56
2 Paul Kibet 01:05:21
3 James Kiplagat 01:05:33
4 Isaac Kipkemboi 01: 05:38
5 Kenneth Cheserek 01:05:51

21KM Women
1 Valary Aiyabei 01:12:06
2 Irene Jepchumba 01:13:40
3 Sylvia Jebiwot 01:14:09
4 Caroline Jebet 01:16:28
5 Emmy Chebet 01:16:49