Kipkirui, Chelimo clinch Sasumua Half Marathon titles

Nicodemus Kipkirui and Edith Chelimo took the men and women Sasumua Half Marathon titles while Simon Kiruthi and Edna Mutai shared the honours in the 10K road races in the event that unfolded in Kinangop, Nyandarua County on Saturday.

Kipkirui who was the second finisher at the Madoka Half Marathon in Mwatate stopped the clock at 61:56 to catch the bouquet on this occasion as he left his challengers trailing in his wake in the men’s signature race.

Isaac Kipkoech (62:26) edged the battle for second from David Mutei (62:33) who closed the podium.

“The race was great and I’m glad all the hard work I’ve been putting in during my training has paid off. The weather today was good,” Kipkirui told Citizen Digital.

Former World Half Marathon bronze winner, Pascalia Jepkorir was stunned in the corresponding women’s race by Chelimo who broke away for a convincing 69:46 victory with the established competitor doing enough to secure second in 70:78.

Naomi Chebet followed them home in 70:56 for the bronze.

“The race was very competitive and I didn’t expect to win especially because the weather here is different from that of Kabarnet where I was born and train,” the excited Chelimo said.

In the 10km men’s race, Kiruthi stopped the timer at 29:72 as Daniel Gatonye (30:21) and James Ndhiwa (30:24:01) settled for second and third.

In the corresponding female race, Mutai beat Margaret Wanjiru to the tape in 31:45 with the former clocking 32:29 for second place. Josephine Wambui took third place in 33:29.

-Wambua, Wangari soar in Limuru-

At the third running of the Limuru Half Marathon held on the same day, Peter Wambua and Maryanne Wangari helped themselves to the 21km men and women titles.

Over 500 participants took part with Wambua running 69:09 for victory in the men’s race ahead of the hard chasing George Waiyaki (69:28) and Lazarus Yeg0 (69:32) in a flying finish to the contest that closed at the Rironi Primary School grounds.

Wangari had little problems dispatching the assembled women’s field as she put together a 70:59 victory, finishing over two minutes ahead of closest challenger Esther Waweru (72:44).

Winners took home Ksh40,000 each with the runner-ups and third placed finishers taking pocketing Ksh30,000 and Ksh20,000.


21 Km Men

  1. Nicodemus Kipkirui 61:56
  2. Isaac Kipkoech 60:26
  3. David Mutei 62:33

21Km Women

  1. Edith Chelimo 69:45
  2. Pasqarias Chepkotir 70:78
  3. Naomi Chebet 70:56

10Km Men

  1. Simon Kiruthi 29:72:02
  2. Daniel Gatonye 30:21:27
  3. James Ndhiwa 30:24:01

10Km Women

  1. Ednah Mutahi 31:45
  2. Margaret Wanjiru 32:29
  3. Josephine Wamboi 33:29

-Report by Harun Njoroge Maina.

latest stories