Kipchoge up against Messi for top award

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge has yet again been nominated in a six-man shortlist for the 2019 Laureus Sportsman of the year award.

The Olympic champion has been shortlisted alongside Barcelona great and reigning Balon d’Or winner Lionel Messi.

American Tiger Woods, who won The Masters after over a decade with no major championships, is also in the list along with tennis player Rafael Nadal and motorsports stars Lewis Hamilton(Formula 1) and Marc Márquez (MotoGP).

The 35-year-old had a sensational 2019, winning the London Marathon for the fourth time in April before becoming the first man to run the marathon in under two hours at the specially organised INEOS Challenge in Austria, Vienna.

Following his record- breaking heroics, Kipchoge has bagged numerous accolades including back to back IAAF Male Athlete of the Year awards and most recently was crowned the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.

All the winners will be revealed at the Laureus World Sports Awards, which take place in Berlin on February 17.

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Lewis Hamilton (UK) Motor Racing

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) Athletics

Marc Marquez (Spain) Motor Cycling

Lionel Messi (Argentina) Football

Rafael Nadal (Spain) Tennis

Tiger Woods (USA) Golf

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

Simone Biles (USA) Gymnastics

Allyson Felix (USA) Athletics

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) Athletics

Naomi Osaka (Japan) Tennis

Megan Rapinoe (USA) Football

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) Skiing

Laureus World Team of the Year

Liverpool (UK) Football

Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team (Germany) Motor Racing

South Africa Men’s Rugby Team

Spain Men’s Basketball Team

Toronto Raptors (Canada) Basketball

United States Women’s Football Team

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

Bianca Andreescu (Canada) Tennis

Egan Bernal (Colombia) Cycling

Coco Gauff (USA) Tennis

Japan Men’s Rugby Team

Andy Ruiz Jr (USA) Boxing

Regan Smith (USA) Swimming

Laureus World Comeback of the Year

Nathan Adrian (USA) Swimming

Sophia Florsch (Germany) Motor Racing

Christian Lealiifano (Australia) Rugby

Kawhi Leonard (USA) Basketball

Liverpool (UK) Football

Andy Murray (UK) Tennis

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

Omara Durand (Cuba) Athletics

Diede de Groot (Netherlands) Wheelchair Tennis

Oksana Masters (USA) Skiing and Cycling

Jetze Plat (Netherlands) Triathlon and Cycling

Manuela Schar (Switzerland) Wheelchair Athletics
Alice Tai (UK) Swimming

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year

Italo Ferreira (Brazil) Surfing

Nyjah Huston (USA) Skateboarding

Chloe Kim (USA) Snowboarding

Rayssa Leal (Brazil) Skateboarding