Kipchirchir, Jeruto reign supreme at the UOE XC

Josphat Kipchirchir and Norah Jeruto are the winners in the 28th edition of the University of Eldoret (UOE) Cross country held Saturday at the University grounds in Uasin Gishu County.

Kipchirchir crossed the finish line in 30.11 ahead of Frankline Ngelel (30:25) as Joshua Kiplagat completed the podium finish in 30:27.

In the senior women race, Jeruto clocked 33:44 ahead of Daisy Jepkemei who settled for the runners up spot in 34:04 as last year’s runners up Daisy Jemeli was pushed further to a third-place finish in 34:34.

Bravin Kogei ran the show in the 8km junior men race cutting the tape in 24:21 ahead of Gideon Kipngetich who clocked 24:25.1 followed closely by Solomon Boit who was timed at 24.25.9.

In the corresponding junior women race, Dorcas Jepchirchir strolled to victory in the 6km race in a time of 20:51 as Salome Kipruto came in second clocking 21.44 while Gladys Jepkurui finished third in 21.48.

Among the guests who graced the event, one of the oldest in the region is the commissioner of sports Japson Gitonga, Patrick Sang who represented Athletics Kenya (AK), University acting Vice Chancellor Prof. Ngetich and the 2018 Berlin marathon champion Gladys Cherono.

According to the Local Organising Committee (LOC) secretary Kibet Rono said the event was successful and further adds that the University will again sponsor the event next year.

“We are very happy everything went according to plan from the onset and the VC is particularly grateful to all the athletes that made it to the event, AK and the ministry of sports for their input in today’s event,” said Kibet.

Other events included the 10km race for universities (men and women), 2km senior citizens- 50 years and above (men) and 45 years and above (women).

Children were also not left behind as they competed in two categories; 1km 10-14 years (boys and girls) and 500m 6-9 years (boys and girls).

 Summarised results

10km senior men

1 Josphat Kipchirchir 30:11

2 Frankline Ngelel 30:25

3 Joshua Kiplagat 30:27

4 Elvis Cheboi 30:31

5 Letaiya Simon 30:36

10km senior women

1 Norah Jeruto 33:44

2 Daisy Jepkemei 34.03

3 Daisy Kimeli 34.34

4 Sheilla Jelagat 34:48

5 Valary Jemeli 35:26

8km junior men

1 Bravin Kogei 24.21

Gideon Kipngetich 24:25.1

3 Solomon Boit 24:25.9

4 Charles Kakuri 24:34

5 Kevin Kibiwott 24:43

6km Junior women

1Dorcas Jepchirchir 20:51

2 Salome Kipruto 21:44

3 Gladys Jepkirui 21:48

4 Vivian Cheruiyot 21.51

5 Stella Jepkosgei 21:59