Kimathi savours KMSF award after strong year of achievement

Kimathi savours KMSF award after strong year of achievement

Phineas Kimathi has described his Kenya Motor Sports Federation best personality award as a milestone for his motorsport career.

The Chairman of the Federation and CEO of the WRC Safari Project was over the weekend named the KMSF Motor Sports Personality of the Year, 2019 as the annual awards ceremony at Nairobi’s Carnivore celebrated a strong year of sporting achievement.

Kimathi spearheaded the spirited campaign which saw the iconic Safari Rally back to the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC).after an 18 year hiatus.

“This is by far my biggest achievement in my motorsport career. It couldn’t have come at a better time when Kenya is in the middle of delivering yet another world class event. I am humbled by the award. It has come as a pleasant surprise and I wish to dedicate it to my family, the dedicated WRC Safari Project staff and the Kenya Motor Sports Federation Board for their support towards ensuring we got the Safari back. I have travelled to more than 30 countries trying to lobby for the event’s world status and I’m glad that the effort came me to fruition,” Kimathi said.

Courtesy of the WRC Safari Project, a joint venture between the Kenyan Government Sports Ministry and the Kenya Motor Sports Federation (KMSF),  the Safari was readmitted to the global series after it evolved to fit the modern-day WRC requirements.

The occasion also fêted all champions in respective categories of the sport.

Baldev Chager was crowned the  2019 Kenya National Rally Champions while Ravi Soni won the 2019 KNRC Navigators award

Isa Amwari bagged Division Two crown while Jasmeet Chana won the 2019 Group N award.

Sahib Omar was crowned the 2019 KCB Autocross champion while Kunal Patel won the 2WD Turbo category..

CAS Hassan Noor Hassan on behalf of Sports CS Amb. Amina Mohammed said:”The Government will continue supporting the man and machine game to ensure the sport ‘races ahead’ with global requirements,.’

Ugandan rally legend Emmanuel Katto was the special guest of the event courtesy of  KMSF. Katto, best remembered for his KNRC days with the Kate Johnathan Toroitich lauded the country for its efforts towards WRC status saying it’s a major milestone for the East African region. “We in Uganda would like to congratulate Mr Kimathi and his team from the Project and KMSF for their great effort. The East African region is proud of your achievements,” he remarked.

The awards ceremony revved-off the 2020 season which starts with this coming weekend with karting 1 and then the KCB Autocross Championship 1 at Jamhuri Park on January 26.

KCB Bank Kenya who are title sponsors of the Kenya National Rally Championship and Autocross Championship were represented by Marketing and Communications Director Angela Mwirigi who confirmed that the lender will renew it’s motorsprt sponsorship for 2020.

KCB will sponsor the 10 legs of the National Autocross, the WRC Safari and indeed the eight rounds of the Kenya National Rally Championship. Karting and Rally Raid are yet to secure sponsors.

Those who were feted were as follows-


Myles Imbayi (60cc Comer)

William Kim (Junior Rotax)



Zameer Verjee (2WD NT)

Kunal Patel (2WD T)

Shahib Omar (4WD T)

Yuvraj Rajput (Bambino)

Tsorav Soni (Per Wee)

Imran Hakada (Open

Wayne Fernandes (Quad)




Main Class

Drive Baldev Chager

Co – Driver Ravi Soni


Division One

Driver Amaar Haq

Co – Driver Victor Okundi


Division Two

Driver Issa Amwari

Co – Driver Shameer Yusuf


Division Three

Driver Geoff Mayes

Co – Driver Suzanne Zwager


Group N

Driver Jasmeet Chana

Co – Driver Ravi Chana

Group S

Driver Sohanjeet Puee

Co – Driver Adnan Din


Driver Nikhil Sachania

Co – Driver Deep Patel



Driver Daren Miranda

Co – Driver Wayne Fernandes



Prototype Car

Driver Ross Field

Co – Driver Robbie Calder

Modified Car

Driver Joost Zuurbier

Co – Driver Rosaline Zuubier