Kenyan trio up for IAAF 2018 Male Athlete of the Year

World Marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge is among three Kenyans nominated a 10-man shortlist for the 2018 Male Athlete of the Year as revealed by global governing body IAAF on Tuesday.

Diamond League champions Timothy Cheruiyot (1500m) and Emmanuel Korir (800m) join Kipchoge in vying to become only the second Kenyan to win such individual honour after double Olympic champion and 800m record holder David Rudisha.

The announcement comes after IAAF published a list 10 female nominees where World 3000m steeplechase record holder Beatrice Chepkoech was the only Kenyan that made the cut following the announcement in Monaco.

“This week marks the opening of the voting process for the 2018 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 in Monaco on Tuesday 4 December.

The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 10 nominees for Male World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF,” IAAF wrote on their website.

Kipchoge underlined his claim as the greatest marathon runner of all time when he ran 2:01.39 at the Berlin Marathon, shaving 78 seconds off the previous mark held by Dennis Kimetto for a single greatest improvement in 51 years.

The Olympic champion also won in London in April to complete a hatrick of titles at the English capital in what has been yet another unforgettable year for the 33-year-old.

Cheruiyot has also enjoyed a stellar year, retaining his 1500m Diamond League trophy as well as winning silver medals at the Commonwealth Games in Australia and African Championships in Asaba, Nigeria.

Korir won his maiden Diamond League trophy this year, claimed silver in Asaba and went on to win the Continental Cup title in Ostrava, Czech Republic.

Other nominees include World long jump champion Luvo Manyonga, US sprinters Christian Coleman and Noah Lyles, Swedish pole-vaulter Armand Duplantis, French heptathlon athlete Kevin Mayer, 400m hurdler Abderrahman Samba of Qatar as well as shot put star Tomas Walsh of New Zealand.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closes on 13 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018.



  1. Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN)
  2. Christian Coleman (USA)
  3. Armand Duplantis (SWE)
  4. Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
  5. Emmanuel Korir (KEN)
  6. Noah Lyles (USA)
  7. Luvo Manyonga (RSA)
  8. Kevin Mayer (FRA)
  9. Abderrahman Samba (QAT)
  10.  Tomas Walsh (NZL)

latest stories