Kenya Simbas assistant coach Murray resigns

Three months after his appointment as Kenya Simbas assistant coach, Murray Roulston has resigned owing to unpaid allowances amounting to millions since March this year.

The New Zealander who was appointed together with his countryman Ian Snook in a two-year deal announced his resignation this morning ahead of the Simbas team naming for their tie against Zimbabwe at the RFUEA grounds on Saturday.

Murray on his part showed his dissatisfaction with the KRU management and their continuous frustrations, lies and lack of transparency that has led to them not being paid.

Citizen Digital learnt that Murray was not among the travelling party to Morocco where Kenya claimed a historic 28-24 win over the hosts at the capital Casablanca during their 2019 World Cup qualifiers opener.

Murray and Snook were brought on board to fill the void left by South African tactician Jerome Paarwater who had left in similar fashion.

Snook retains his status as head coach with Dominique Habimana set to take over Murray’s role for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Zimbabwe (Sables) this weekend.

Snook had earlier named a 23 man squad to face the Sables ahead of the Rugby Africa Gold Cup which will double up as the African qualifying round for the Japan 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Kenya Harlequins duo of Isaac Adimo and Malcolm Onsando will replace injured Philip Ikambili and Leo Seje who picked up injuries during their opener with Morocco.

Impala Saracens youngster Xavier Kipngetich and KCB back rower Martin Owilla and Kabras Dalmus Chituyi also included in the 23 man squad.

The Gold Cup winner will earn a direct ticket to Japan with second-placed also going to the global bonanza. Both the winner and runner-up will be pooled in pool B with World champions New Zealand, South Africa and Italy.

The Africa Gold Cup will conclude on August 18 with all six teams in action, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Namibia Tunisia and Morocco.

The winner of the competition will not only be crowned African champion but will also secure direct qualification to the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan with the second placed team joining teams from Europe, Asia and South America in the Repechage process for the final spot at the Rugby World Cup.

The tie between Kenya and Zimbabwe will kick off at 3:00pm with Frenchman Tula Trainini as the centre referee.


Kenya Simbas

1. Patrick Ouko 2.Coleman Were 3.Joseph Odero 4.Andrew Chogo 5.Malcolm Onsando 6.George Nyambua 7Elkeans Musonye. 8. Davis Chenge 9.Sam Onsomu 10.Isaac Adimo 11.Edmund Anya 12.Darwin Mukidza 13.Peter Kilonzo 14.Tony Onyango 15.Biko Adema


16. Curtis Lilako 17.Moses Amusala 18.Peter Karia 19.Oliver Mangeni 20.Dalmus Chituyi 21.Martin Owilla 22.Xavier Kipngetich 23.Max Kangeri

latest stories