KCB RFC bring the big guns for Prinsloo showdown

KCB RFC bring the big guns for Prinsloo showdown

The national rugby sevens Shujaa captain Andrew Amonde has been recalled to the KCB RFC side as top descend Nakuru for the third round of the national sevens series on September 23 and 24.

Shujaa players have been given the leeway to participate at the upcoming Prinsloo Sevens for their respective clubs, paving way for an explosive leg as the stars set out to bring a great deal of experience to the local circuit.

Amonde, the Kenyan captain last featured for his club during last year’s Nanyuki sevens leg where he managed to scoop the Man of the Match despite the Bankers going down to the Deejays.

He presents a huge boost for Coach Dennis Mwanja whose side only managed to win the plate trophy during the previous round held in Nairobi, the Kabeberi Sevens.

Other notable Shujaa players that have been included in the KCB’s squad include Jacob Ojee, Martin Owillah, Darwin Mukidza and Davis Chenge.

Their availability marks them out as the team to beat as they embark on a bid to better their Plate finish last year.

“I believe with the inclusion of our key players we can deliver good results. We just have to stay focused, disciplined and work on our defence which made us lose crucial points in the last two rounds,” Mwanja told Citizen Digital.

The Bankers will kick launch their Prinsloo campaign against closest rivals Mount Kenya University (Thika), Kabras Sugar before wrapping up their group stage action against Catholic University.

Mwanja singled out their Kenya Cup rivals Kabras as their strongest challenger in the group but vowed hit them from the start at the Nakuru Athletic Club.


1. Amonde Andrew 2. Owilah Martin 3. Chenge Davis 4. Abeka Stafford 5. Nato Collins 6. Owira Arthur 7. Wanjala Michael 8. Kimwele Michael 9. Asati Samuel 10. Ahmed Shaban 11. Njoroge Issac 12. Otieno Elphas 13. Mukidza Darwin 14. Ojee Jacob 15. Ojema Benjamin


2017 National Sevens Circuit Standings

Driftwood Kabeberi Prinsloo Sepetuka Christie Dala TOTAL
 Oilers 17 19 36
Impala 12 22 34
Homeboyz 22 12 34
Kabras 13 15 28
 Nakuru 19 08 27
 Strathmore 05 17 22
 KCB 07 13 20
 Quins 10 10 20
 Nondies 10 10 20
 Machine 15 05 20
 Mwamba 08 07 15
 Blad 05 01 06
 Catholic 05 05
 Kisii 02 01 03
 Bulls  03 03
 Daystar  3 03
 Makueni  2 02
 KCA 01 01
 Mombasa 01 01


-Report by Benson Mbare