Kariobangi sharks through to GOtv quarters

Kariobangi Sharks have booked their slot in the quarter finals of the GOtv Shield following a 1 – 0 win over Modern Coast Rangers in Mombasa’s Mbaraki stadium Sunday, August 28.

Former Bandari FC striker Ibrahim Kitawi scored the lone goal in the 47th minute as FKF President Nick Mwendwa joined hundreds of fans to watch the thrilling encounter.

Sharks controlled the game for most of the first half but their attacking line was guilty of a number of wasted chances through Rodgers Omondi and Kitawi.

After the goal, Modern Coast missed three chances through Athman Bori, Ismail Niyonzima and
Leroy Buko.

Sharks coach, William Muluya, was happy with the way his side held their lines well before dominating the additional four minutes to seal their passage to the next round.

“We achieved most of the aspects we wanted to look at. The areas we worked on in training came through well. There is always room for improvement, but overall I am pleased,” said Muluya.

“We still have a couple of weeks to fine-tune things before the quarters and will continue to work hard in order to do so.”

Modern Coast Rangers Head Coach, Mohammed Ahmed, was not happy with the way they conceded, but admitted that most of the defensive work is still to come.

“We have spent too much time on our defense and attack so far, so although we are not happy with the result, we will get to that. We still have time to work on those things, and try to finish in a respectable position in the National Super League” Ahmed said.

Modern Coast Rangers Starting XI: Ryan Musa (GK) (C), Hamisi Mwichande, Naftali Amayo, Alfred Maningi, Samuel Atte, George Owiti, Johnstone Andele, Mohammed Said, Athman Bori, Ismail Niyonzima, Leroy Buko.

Subs: Said Dhadho (GK), Dennis Ochieng, David Orem, Nellyson Katana, Rama Izungu and Athman Kibwana.

Kariobangi Sharks Starting XI: John Oyemba (GK), Steven Odhiambo, Daniel Guya, Wycliffe Otieno, Pascal
Ogweno, Sven Yidah, Matthew Odongo, Moses Kamau, Vincent Wasambo, Ibrahim Kitawi and Rodgers Omondi.

Subs: Malcom Oigo (GK), Samuel Muringu, Newton Mugo, Eliakim Nyaga, Kenneth Wendo, Boniface Akenga
and Kevin Ndung’u.

latest stories