Kapaito, Shikhalo in 2018 KPL’s MVP nominees list

Kenyan Premier League (KPL) 2018 season top scorer Eric Kapaito highlights the list of five finest nominated for the Most Valuable Player (MVP), released by KPL Limited on Thursday in Nairobi.

Kapaito, nominated in three more categories, will compete for the coveted award against last year’s winner Michael Madoya of Zoo Kericho, Bandari goalkeeper Faruk Shikhalo, Mathare United’s Cliff Nyakeya and Bandari’s ace defender Felly Mulumba.

The Kariobangi Sharks striker was also picked by coaches and captains of KPL outfits to contest for the Fairplay Player of the Year, New Player of the Year and his obvious Golden  Boot.

Michael Madoya kisses his cherished trophy after being crowned the Footballer of the Year during the 2017 FOYA Awards at Sankara Hotel in Nairobi on January 12, 2018. Photo/ Oliver Ananda/Sportpicha

Madoya and Mulumba are also in three categories, the former featuring in the Midfielder of the Year and Fairplay  while the latter appears in the Defender of  the Year and the Fairplay list.

Finest coach

Gor Mahia’s Dylan Kerr, Bandari FC’s Bernard Mwalala,  Tusker FC’s Robert Matano, Ulinzi Stars’ Danstan Nyaudo and John Baraza of Sofapaka have been voted to vie for the Coach of the Year Awad.

(FILE)Bandari FC head coach Bernard Mwalala reacts during a past match. Photo/Stafford Ondego/Sportpicha

Mwalala managed two clubs in the season, starting off with Nzoia Sugar before joining Bandari to lead them to a second spot finish.

Davies Omweno who works as a mechanic and a truck driver tops the referees list,  which has Raymond Onyango, Yasin Badir, Andrew Juma and Israel Mpaima in the category of the Best Centre Referee of the Year.

Champions Gor Mahia, Sofapaka and Kariobangi Sharks are lined up for the Fairplay Club of the Year Award.

Tough task

Matano spoke on behalf of the team that came up with the nominees admitting it was a tough task.

“Both coaches and captains from KPL teams sat in different panels and came up with names of individuals who did well in the league. We compared the two panels’ list and finally agreed on these final nominees. It was a difficult but a clean and a clear process,” Matano stressed.

The winner of each category will be announced based on the combined number of points the nominee will earn from the coaches and the captains.

The gala awards ceremony will go down on October 25, 2018 at the Kenya School of Government.

In other categories, Team Manager of the Year nominees are Kariobangi Sharks’ Francis Onywera, Sofapaka’s Vincent Okello, Sony Sugar’s Emmanuel Geno, Ulinzi Stars’ Christopher Ouma and Lazarus Yogo of Zoo Kericho.

Gilbert Cheruiyot tops the list of the Assistant Referee of the Year Award, followed by Mary Ann Njoroge, Tonny Kidiya, Stephen Yiembe and Oliver Odhiambo.

latest stories