Kandie, Chelangat win National Cross Country titles

Kandie, Chelangat win National Cross Country titles

Kenya Defence Force’s Kibiwott Kandie and Kenya Police Service Sheila Chelangat won the men’s and women’s senior races respectively at the national cross country championships held Saturday at Ngong Race Course.

Kandie clocked 29:57.7 to stun the world cross country bronze medalist Geoffrey Kamworor who had led for the race from the 6km mark after he missed the route as he approach end the finish line.

Kamworor of Kenya Police Service thus settled for the second spot in 30:05.5 as Nicholas Kimeli of Central Rift closed the podium in 30:12.0.

Despite playing second fiddle to Kamworor in large spells of the race, Kandie said he was ready to bag the national title.

With the national event also being used to select Kenya’s team for Africa Cross Country Championships to be held in Lome, Togo in April 8, Kandie said he is now shifting focus to the continental championship.

“I had prepared well for this race I knew it was not going to be easy but I thank God I managed to win. I am now going to prepare well for the Africa Championships where I want to win a medal” said Kibiwott who emerged the winner at the KDF’s championship.

In the corresponding women’s event, Chelangat ran the show clocking 34:34.9 ahead of compatriot Stacy Ndiwa who timed 34:40.4 with Joyce Chepkemoi of KDF coming home third in 34:48.8.

Chelangat who also won the Police Championships in the same venue last month said she was happy to have earned her maiden ticket to represent the country in Togo.

“The race was very competitive but I had competed in this course before and that is what helped me plan for the race adequately. It is an honour to represent my country and I will do my best there,” said Chelangat.

Samuel Chebole retained his title in the 8km men’s under-20 race after he clocked 24:09.3 ahead of world 5000m finalist Jacob Krop (24:16.7) and Shadrack Kipchirchir (24:22.7) who finished second and third respectively.

In the women 6km Maurine Cherotich took top honours after clocking 24:14.9 followed by Edina Jebitok 20:24.8 and third placed Agnes Jebet 20:35.4

Summarised Results

10km senior men
1 Kibiwott Kandie 29:57.7
2 Geoffrey Kamworor 30:05.5
3 Nicholas Kimeli 30:12.0
4 Alfred Barkach 30:25.7
5 Emmanuel Bett 30:30.9
6 Edwin Kiplagat 30:32.7

10km senior women

1 Sheila Chelangat 34:34.9
2 Stacy Ndiwa 34:40.4
3 Joyce Chepkemoi 34:48.8
4 Emmaculate Anyango 34:58.3
5 Beatrice Chebet 35:00.1
6 Monicah Chirchir 35:02.8

8km Under-20 men
1 Samuel Chebole 24:09.3
2 Jacob Krop 24:16.7
3 Shadrack Kipchirchir 24:22.8
4 Gedion Rono 24:25.1
5 Emmanuel Kiplagat 24:28.1
6 Emmanuel Maruu 24:31.0

6km under-20 women
1 Maurine Chebet 20:14.9
2 Edina Jebitok 20:29.8
3 Agnes Chebet 20:35.4
4 Winnie Kimutai 20:51.8
5 Margaret Akidor 20:52.7
6 Deborah Chemutai 20:58.2

6km Under-18 boys
1 Vincent Kipchumba 18:09.5
2 Benson Sigei 18:19.9
3 David Mungai 18:23.8
4 Bernard Langat 18:29.2
5 Ismael Kirui 18:34.0
6 Franklin Maritim 18:34.9

5km Under-18 girls
1 Naomi Kemboi 17:26.4
2 Marion Cheruiyot 17:27.7
3 Iscah Chelangat 17:31.0
4 Christine Chesiro 17:33.1
5 Gladys Chepkirui 17:37.7
6 Faith Kimutai 17:41.7

latest stories