Junior Stars eye Cecafa U17 glory in Burundi

Junior Stars eye Cecafa U17 glory in Burundi

The national Under-17 team will kick the 2018 Cecafa U17 championship against the 2007 winners and hosts Burundi on April 14 at the Muyinga Stadium.

The Kenyans will then play Ethiopia on April 17 before rounding off their Group A action against Somalia on Friday, April 20.

The top two teams from each of the groups will gain qualification to the semifinals, set to be played on April 25, with the final being held on April 29, 2018.

Kenya U17 national team head coach Michael Amenga who is also the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Deputy Technical Director has expressed his confidence going to this tornament.

“The team is being honed for the 2019 African Youth Championships finals which will be hosted in Tanzania between 2–26 in May 2019 with seven nations set to join the hosts in the finals, and today am confident we will upset the hosts,” said coach Amenga.

He will be assisted by Kibera Black Stars tactician Godfrey Oduor and former Kenyan International goalkeeper Jerim Onyango.

Kenya have been drawn in Group A together with hosts Burundi, Ethiopia and Somalia.

Group B, meanwhile, comprises of Uganda, Tanzania, Sudan and Zanzibar.

The Kenya team will be captained by Arnold Onyango of Laiser Hill and assisted by Isaiah Abwal of St. Anthony’s Kitale.

Kenya U-17 Full Squad:

Kennedy Nduto (Sunrise Educational Centre), Maxwell Mulili (Mukumu Boys).

Arnold Onyango (Laiser Hill), Telvin Maina (Laiser Hill), Michael Abongo (Utumishi Academy), Costa Anjeo (Millenium Secondary), Movin Omondi (Sunflower Secondary), Brian Olang’o (Kamukunji Secondary), Lawrence Otieno (Sunflower Secondary),Christopher Raila (St.Anthony, Kitale) and Nesta Wangema (Anointed High School).

Lesley Otieno (Sunflower Secondary), Saidi Musa (Eastleigh High), Felix Chabaya (Brownhill Secondary), Mathew Mwendwa (Anointed High School), Hillary Okoth (Hidden Talent) and Nicholas Omondi (Soweto Baptist),

Isaiah Abwal (St.Anthony, Kitale), Daniel Odhiambo (St.Anthony, Kitale) and Patrick Ngunyi (Brookshine Secondary).

latest stories