In form Tusker striker Wanga earns Stars recall

In form Tusker striker Wanga earns Stars recall

Tusker FC striker Allan Wanga has earned a recall to the preliminary Harambee Stars squad of 25 that features three new faces released by First Coach Stanley Okumbi on Tuesday.

Wanga who scored the winner for the Brewers in the GOtv Shield final last returns to the national team fold alongside teammate and midfielder, Osborne Monday and Posta Rangers keeper, Patrick Matasi.

Bandari FC’s Darius Msagha, Morgen Otinya and Michael Misigo of National Super League sides Palos FC and Vihiga United will report to Stars camp for the first time with Football Kenya Federation (FKF) saying the list of nine foreign players will be released later.

Wanga had foreseen his call up, having impressed with the Brewers since returning from Tanzania’s Azam to the local scene in June.

“I know I am in good shape to offer something to the national given a chance but for now all focus is on helping my club win the league title.

“It’s motivating to receive the award because it’s an indicator I have settled pretty fast, but in the national team we have good strikers who are scoring goals for their clubs.

“I will be happy to return to the national team although I appreciate competition is stiff,” Wanga told Citizen Digital after he was honoured as Tusker’s finest for the month of August.

There was no place in the side for AFC Leopards duo Bruno Kiyai and Bernard Mang’oli who snubbed call-ups to the national team for Stars friendly with Democratic Republic of Congo in Kinshasa.

They failed to report to the camp to concentrate opting instead to concentrate on league matches.

Rangers and Gor Mahia are the best represented clubs in the squad with five players each with Mathare United and Tusker contributing three each.

After Congo’s match that Stars won 1-0, Okumbi revealed he would give chance to more local based players in preparation for the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

Stars play Mozambique on November 12 and Liberia two days later with both games in Nairobi.

Preliminary Squad

Goalkeepers: Bonface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), David Okelo (Tusker FC), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers) and James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars)

Defenders: Musa Mohammed, Harun Shakava, Erick Ouma (Gor Mahia), Simon Mbugua, Joakins Atudo (both Posta Rangers), Robinson Kamura, David Mwangi (both Mathare United), Bernard Oginga (Vihiga United).

Midfielders: Kenneth Mugambi (Western Stima), Victor Majid, Jaffary Owiti (both Chemelil Sugar FC), Lawrence Juma (Nzoia United), Duncan Otieno (Posta Rangers), Amos Nondi (Gor Mahia), Michael Misigo (Vihiga United), Dairus Msagaha (Bandari FC), Osborne Monday (Tusker FC), Eric Johanna (Mathare United), Morven Otinya (Palos FC).

Strikers: Allan Wanga (Tusker FC), Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers), John Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars).

latest stories