Impala have KCB Lions in their crosshairs in Floodies final

Defending Impala Floodlit champions KCB take on recurrent tournament rivals Impala Saracens in the final at the latter’s home ground in Nairobi on Saturday.

Forward David Mukidza takes the captaincy role for the game in absence of skipper Curtis Lilako through injury, which he got during his clubs victory over Nakuru Top Fry 28-26 in a thrilling semi-final played last weekend.

KCB released their squad for the finals with the former experienced Simba XVs scrumhalf Felix Wanjala coming in for Marlin Mukolwe who moves to the bench in the only change to the starting team.

Impala Saracens have made two changes ahead of the game Kelvin Karani coming in to hook while Kenya 7s Olympian Sammy Oliech has recovered from his hamstring strain to start at full back to the team that that outclassed Kenya Harlequins 13-11 in the other semi finals.

The gazelles have also altered their playing unit at the front with Karani’s elder brother Dennis switching back to the tight-head prop after featuring as a loose-head in last weekend’s semifinal victory over Ngong Road neighbors and rivals Kenya Harlequins. Edgar Obino will now take up  Dennis’ role at loosehead.

 “A match against KCB is always bruising. We will look that physical challenge in the eye and hope to ride it to impose our own approach to the game,” Fred Ollows, the Impala Director of Rugby told

The Impala Floodlit tournament final will mark the end of the pre season highlight before league competition starts with Kenya Cup action starting on November 5.

The day matches will kickoff at 11.00am (+3GMT) when the gates opens and it will cost fans Ksh400 to enter Impala club with first fixture being women’s final where Thika Road will play Ngong Road before Laiser Hill  and Ofafa Jericho battle it out for the schools title.

Other matches of the day Menengai Oilers and Blak Blad II will play in the varsities final before Strathmore Leos play Menengai Cream Homeboyz in the Plate final at 5.10m.




Edgar Obino, Kelvins Karani, Dennis Karani, Davis Makori, Rainer Omondi, Joel Omer(c), Tyson Okoth, Duncan Ekasi, Samson Onsomu, Nato Simiyu, Ian Minjire, David Dinda, Anthony Nyandigisi, Quinto Ongo, Samuel Oliech

Daniel Ndome, Neville Omondi, Anthony Orege, Eric Kerre, Erick Kopondo, Mohammed Omollo, David Moenga, George Okowa


15. Darwin Mukidza (C), 14. Edwin Salamba, 13. Collins Nato, 12. Stafford Abeka, 11. Jacob Ojee, 10. Billy Isabwa, 9. Felix Wanjala, 1. Oscar Simiyu, 2. Peter Karia, 3. George Gichure, 4. Oliver Mang’eni, 5. Francis Mwita, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Davis Chenge, 8. Rocky Aguko

Replacements:  16. George Asin, 17.Nelson Nyandat, 18.Calvine Sule, 19. Nesta Okotch, 20. Felix Ojow, 21. Marlin Mukolwe, 22. Steve Oyaya, 23. Collins Wanjala

latest stories