Four in the running for Ingwe’s top post

Four candidates running for the chairmanship of Kenyan Premier League (KPL) side, AFC Leopards had returned nomination forms by the set Friday deadline, the club’s Electoral Board secretary, Irene Tindi, confirmed.

This was after they coughed the non-refundable nomination fees of Ksh100,000 as required by Thursday before their forms were received a day later.

“Unfortunately, I can’t tell you the names of the candidates who have handed in their forms for the chairman’s position but I can confirm that the Board so far has received four nomination forms.

“We have forwarded the aspirants’ documents to the relevant authorities like CID, HELB and KRA for authentication and once they give us the go ahead we will announce their names,” Tindi told Citizen Digital.

Interim Management Committee (IMC) co-chairmen Dan Mule and Matthews Opwora, former FKF vice president Robert Asembo and Mombasa branch chairman Maurice Amahwa have been paraded as the front runners for the top seat.

The Board has also received 30 forms from aspirants vying for  positions in the July 24 elections planned for Nairobi’s Bomas of Kenya with the chairman, vice-chairman, secretary general, organizing secretary and assistant treasurer seats up for grabs.

Tindi also announced they were in the process of vetting the fans register that was forwarded to them by the IMC.

“We received a list of 4,900 registered fans from the IMC and we are currently in the process of verifying it,” she reiterated.

The Board has so far overseen the collection of forms, payment of the nomination fees and returning the duly filled nomination forms and is confident of conducting credible elections.

-Report by Eric Kagundah