Eliud Kipchoge, Cheruiyot nominated for IAAF Male World Athlete of the Year award

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge and World 1,500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot are among the 11 nominees shortlisted for this year’s IAAF Male World Athlete of the Year award.

Today also marks the start of the voting process for the 2019 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the World Athletics Awards 2019 in Monaco set for November 23 with the voting closing on November 4.

Other nominees are: Donavan Brazier (USA), Christian Coleman (USA), Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda), Steven Gardiner (Bahamas), Sam Kendricks (USA), Noah Lyles (USA), Daniel Stahl (Sweden), Christian Taylor (USA) and Karsten Warholm (Norway).

The 11 nominated athletes reflect the remarkable range of exceptional performances that the sport has witnessed this year, at the IAAF World Athletics Championships in Doha, and in the Diamond League and in road and cross-country events.

The shortlist comes barely two days after Kipchoge’s historic run in Vienna, Austria where he clocked 1:59:40 to become the first human to run a marathon race under two hours.

He also successfully defended his London marathon title in April in a course record of 2:02:37, and will be out to retain the gong which he won last year.

On the other hand, Cheruiyot has been on scintillating form winning three consecutive Diamond League Series titles before recently wrapping the season with a gold medal at the World Athletics Championships in Doha, Qatar where he clocked 3:29.26.

The 11 nominees were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

Five of the nominated athletes will however make the final shortlist depending on the votes.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 gala in November 23.

The female nominees will be announced on Tuesday.

Here is the full list of nominees

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

– won London Marathon in a course record of

– ran 1:59:40.2 for 42.195km in Vienna

Timothy Cheruyiot (KEN)

– won world 1500m title

– won Diamond League 1500m title

– won 10 of his 11 outdoor races across all distances

Donavan Brazier (USA)

– won world 800m title in a championship record of 1:42.34

– won Diamond League title

– won four of his five outdoor 800m races

Christian Coleman (USA)

– won world 100m title in a world-leading 9.76

– won world 4x100m title in a world-leading 37.10

– won four of his five races at 100m

Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)

– won world cross-country title in Aarhus

– won world 10,000m title in a world-leading 26:48.36

– won Diamond League 500m title

Steven Gardiner (BAH)

– won world 400m title in 43.48

– undefeated all year over 400m

– ran world-leading 32.26 indoors over 300m

Sam Kendricks (USA)

– won world pole vault title

– cleared a world-leading 6.06m to win the US title

– won 12 of his 17 outdoor competitions, including the Diamond League final

Noah Lyles (USA)

– Won world 200m and 4x100m titles

– ran a world-leading 19.50 in Lausanne to move to fourth on the world all-time list

– won Diamond League titles at 100m and 200m

Daniel Stahl (SWE)

– won the world discus title

– threw a world-leading 71.86m to move to fifth on the world all-time list

– won 13 of his 16 competitions, including the Diamond League final

Christian Taylor (USA)

– won the world triple jump title

– won Diamond League title

– won 10 of his 14 competitions

Karsten Warholm (NOR)

– won the world 400m hurdles title

– undefeated indoors and outdoors at all distances, including at the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships

– clocked world-leading 46.92, the second-fastest time in history