CMD now accuses NOCK of fraud

The Centre for Multiparty Democracy has accused the National Olympic Committee of Kenya (Nock) of fraud in the process of conducting the elections.

CMD-Kenya also threw away the new set of rules by Nock for the elections because the firm that was purported to have formulated the rules has denied any involvement.

CMD opted to use the other set of rules already in existence and which had been used  to prepare for the adjourned of the May 5th Elective General Assembly, after Kenya Taekwondo Association (KTA) sought a court order from the High Court on the eve of the elections.

Francis K. Paul, the secretary general, National Olympic committee of Kenya (KNOCK) at Kipchoge Keino Stadium during the National Trials for Rio Olympics on July 01, 2016. Photo/
Francis K. Paul, the Secretary General, National Olympic committee of Kenya (KNOCK) at Kipchoge Keino Stadium during the National Trials for Rio Olympics on July 01, 2016. Photo/SPORTPICHA

“We have inquired from our lawyers; Henia Anzala & Associates on whether they prepared the agreement forwarded to us, by the Secretary General. They indicate that they did not prepare the agreement. It is illegal and borders on fraud for you to use a law firm’s name on your documents without their knowledge or consent. Be that as it may, we already have an operative agreement with Nock and we do not see the need to sign a fresh agreement,” CMD said in a terse statement.

On Tuesday, CMD will hold a ‘mini Elective General Assembly’ to set the agenda for September 29 elections.

The Tuesday meeting is expected to be attended by all stakeholders; candidates, voters and NEC Members.

CMD also rejected nominations that Nock had reopened during their Extra Ordinary meeting on September 5 and instead opted to follow guidelines given by International Olympic Committee in their letters addressed to the local body.

“Opening up the nomination process means we start the election process afresh. The process was not nullified. The meeting of May 5, 2017 was in our view adjourned; we therefore proceed from where it was left off. This is also in line with directions given by IOC in its letter of August 17, and September 14, 2017,” CMD’s Executive Director Francis Onyango, said.



Paul Tergat (Athletics)- unopposed

First Vice president

  1. Shadrack Maluki (Judo)
  2. 2. Nahashon Randiak (Hockey)

Second Vice president

  1. Waithaka Kioni (Volleyball)
  2. Jackson Tuwei (Athletics)

Secretary General

  1. F.K Paul (Handball)
  2. Andrew Mudibo (Table Tennis)
  3. John Kilonzo (Rugby)

Deputy Secretary General

  1. James Chacha (Taekwondo)
  2. Francis Mutuku (Tennis)
  3. Timothy Nabea ((Football)
  4. John Ogolla (Weightlifting)


  1. Elynah Shiveka (Hockey)
  2. Ann Njambi (Badminton)
  3. Eliud Kariuki (Wrestling)

Deputy Treasurer

  1. Stephen Soi (Taekwondo)
  2. Charles Mose (Cycling)
  3. Dr Paul Rwambo (Golf)
  4. John Kameta (Boxing)

Committee members

  1. Catherine Ndereba (Athletics)
  2. Julius Mwangi (Cycling)
  3. Paul Otula (Basketball)
  4. Suleiman Sumba (Taekwondo)
  5. Mohammed Shuaib (Shooting)

Women Representative

  1. Tegla Loroupe (Athletics)
  2. Paurvi Rawal (Tennis)
  3. Roselyn Njeri (Swimming)
  4. Peter Muchiri (Badminton)

Athletes Representative

  1. Male- Humphrey Kayange (Rugby)- Unopposed
  2. Female- Hellen Obiri (Athletics)- Unopposed

Additional reporting by Jessica Barisa

latest stories