Chituyi, Ayange, Lilako included for Windhoek Gold Cup finale

Kenya 15s rugby head coach Ian Snook has made three new inclusions to his side that won against Tunisia, for the final Gold Cup clash against hosts Namibia in Windhoek on Saturday.

Last weekend, Kenya silenced visitors Tunisia 67-0, without Dalmus Chituyi, Felix Ayange and Curtis Lilako who are now part of the 23-man squad set to leave for Namibia.

Chituyi, who was the two-try hero in the 45-36 win over Zimbabwe on June 30 missed last weekend’s clash through injury alongside former Kenya Sevens international Ayange who was recovering a root canal operation.

KCB skipper Lilako on the other hand an experienced tight head makes a comeback to the squad since the Morocco match on June 23 in Nairobi.

Kenya Sevens star Willy Ambaka retains his position after an exemplary performance of two tries and an assist in the Tunisia game.

“Dalmus (Chituyi) is in as we have a 6/2 bench in this game. It has been crucial in a couple of other matches to have fresh forwards coming on late and making a telling difference. We hope this will be the same.

“Felix is on the bench as he can cover many positions and is competent in them all. He is a tough competitor and we know he will be up for the physical battle. Biko who usually fills this role is injured…,” Snook explained of the new inclusions.

Going into the the Simbas need a victory to secure their place at Japan 2019, besides crowning as the Africa Gold Cup Champions.

The runners-up of the Kenya Namibia tie, will head to a global competition in France during the November test window for the last chance to qualify for the 2019 rugby World Cup.

The test will be even harder with the unpredictable Canada, big boys Germany and the fast rising Hong Kong also fighting for the last ticket to Japan.

Simbas squad to Namibia

Isaac Adimo (Kenya Harlequin), Martin Owilah (KCB), Samson Onsomu (Impala Saracens), William Ambaka (Kenya Harlequin), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Tony Onyango (Homeboyz), Peter Kilonzo, Oliver Mang’eni, Jacob Ojee (KCB), Mohamed Omollo (Homeboyz), Felix Ayange (Kabras Sugar), Dalmus Chituyi (Homeboyz), Curtis Lilako, Peter Karia (KCB), Elkeans Musonye (Strathmore Leos), George Nyambua, Andrew Chogo (Kabras Sugar), Malcolm Onsando (Kenya Harlequin), Patrick Ouko (Homeboyz), Moses Amusala (KCB), Joseph Odero (Kabras Sugar), Colman Were (Kabras Sugar), Davis Chenge (KCB, Captain).